Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences

View Current Issue  Submit to JAS


The Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences (JAS) (ISSN: 0022-4928; eISSN: 1520-0469) publishes basic research related to the physics, dynamics, and chemistry of the atmosphere of Earth and other planets, with emphasis on the quantitative and deductive aspects of the subject.

2020 Impact Factor: 3.1841

Submission Types

  • Articles: Up to 7500 words, including the body text, acknowledgments, and appendixes. The word limit does not include the title page, abstract, references, captions, tables, and figures. If a submission exceeds the word limit, the author must provide a justification for the length of the manuscript and request the Chief Editor’s approval of the overage. This request may be uploaded in a document with the "Cover Letter" item type or entered in the comment field in the submission system.
  • Reviews: Synthesis of previously published literature that may address successes, failures, and limitations. Requires Review Proposal. For more information, see Review Articles.
  • Comment and Reply Exchange: Comments are written in response to a published article and should be submitted within 2 years of the publication date of the original article (although the editor can waive this limit in extenuating circumstances). The author of the original article has the opportunity to write a Reply. These exchanges are published together. 
  • Corrigenda: The corrigendum article type is available for authors to address errors discovered in already published articles. For more information, see Corrigenda.

Editors and Staff Contacts

Chief Editor

Anne K. Smith, National Center for Atmospheric Research


Peter Bartello, McGill University
Mary Barth, National Center for Atmospheric Research
William R. Boos, University of California, Berkeley
Elie Bou-Zeid, Princeton University
Edmund Kar-Man Chang, Stony Brook University
Johannes Dahl, Texas Tech University
Jerry Harrington, The Pennsylvania State University
Yoshio Kawatani, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
David Mechem, University of Kansas
Lorraine Remer, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Christopher Rozoff, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Tiffany Shaw, University of Chicago
Daniel Stern, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Susan van den Heever, Colorado State University
Zhuo Wang, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Feng Xu, University of Oklahoma


Associate Editors

Marta Abalos, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Marcelo Chamecki, University of California, Los Angeles
Xiaomin Chen, NOAA/AOML
Brice Coffer, North Carolina State University
Yair Cohen, Climate Modelling Alliance, California Institute of Technology
Jessie Creamean, Colorado State University

Jerome Fast, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Matthew Flournoy, Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies
Virendra P. Ghate, Argonne National Laboratory
Marco Giometto, Columbia University
Peter Haynes, University of Cambridge
Eric Hendricks, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Christopher Holloway, University of Reading

Adele Igel, University of California, Davis
Alexey Yu. Karpechko, Finnish Meteorological Institute
Chanh Kieu, Indiana University, Bloomington
Gerard Kilroy, Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Germany

Christopher G. Kruse, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Matthew Kumjian, The Pennsylvania State University

Zachary J. Lebo, University of Wyoming

Manuela Lehner, University of Innsbruck
Dan Li, Boston University
Yanluan Lin, Tsinghua University
David Lorenz, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Robert Nystrom, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Paul A. O’Gorman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mariko Oue, Stony Brook University
John Peters, Naval Postgraduate School
Riwal Plougonven, Laboratoire de Météorologie Dynamique/IPSL, Ecole Polytechnique, Institut Polytechnique de Paris

Jadwiga (Yaga) Richter, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Rosimar Rios-Berrios, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Aditi Sheshadri, Stanford University
Elizabeth Smith, NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory
Kara Sulia, The University at Albany

DanDan Tao, Colorado State University
Joao Teixeira, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Marcus van Lier-Walqui, Columbia University & NASA/GISS
Adam C Varble, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Michael Waite, University of Waterloo
Shuguang Wang, School of Atmospheric Sciences, Nanjing University
Liguang Wu, Fudan University

Yang Zhang, Nanjing University

Pablo Zurita-Gotor, Universidad Complutense de Madrid and Instituto of Geociencia


Peer Review Support Staff

Felicia Gullotta, Assistant to Anne K. Smith, Edmund Kar-Man Chang, and Susan van den Heever
Cristina Barletta, Assistant to Mary Barth, William R. Boos, Yoshio Kawatani, and David Mechem
Tiffany Bischoff, Assistant to Peter Bartello, Lorraine Remer, and Feng Xu
Hayley Charney, Assistant to Elie Bou-Zeid and Daniel Stern
Erin Gumbel, Assistant to Johannes Dahl and Zhuo Wang
Andrea Herbst-Horner, Assistant to Tiffany Shaw
Christine Ziebarth, Assistant to Jerry Harrington and Christopher Rozoff


Production Staff

Mike Friedman, Senior Manager for Publishing Operations
Richard R. Brandt, Lead Technical Editor
Ramesh Pillay, Lead Copy Editor
Danielle Joyce, Author Submission Support

1 2020 Journal Impact Factors by Clarivate Analytics; Meteorology and Atmospheric Science category.