Journal of Hydrometeorology

View Current Issue  Submit to JHM


The Journal of Hydrometeorology (JHM) (ISSN: 1525-755X; eISSN: 1525-7541) publishes research on modeling, observing, and forecasting processes related to fluxes and storage of water and energy, including interactions with the boundary layer and lower atmosphere, and processes related to precipitation, radiation, and other meteorological inputs.

2020 Impact Factor: 4.3491

Submission Types

  • Articles: Up to 7500 words, including the body text, acknowledgments, and appendixes. The word limit does not include the title page, abstract, references, captions, tables, and figures. If a submission exceeds the word limit, the author must provide a justification for the length of the manuscript and request the Chief Editor’s approval of the overage. This request may be uploaded in a document with the "Cover Letter" item type or entered in the comment field in the submission system.
  • Reviews: Synthesis of previously published literature that may address successes, failures, and limitations. Requires Review Proposal. For more information, see Review Articles.
  • Comment and Reply Exchange: Comments are written in response to a published article and should be submitted within 2 years of the publication date of the original article (although the editor can waive this limit in extenuating circumstances). The author of the original article has the opportunity to write a Reply. These exchanges are published together. 
  • Corrigenda: The corrigendum article type is available for authors to address errors discovered in already published articles. For more information, see Corrigenda.

Editors and Staff Contacts

Chief Editor

Wade T. Crow, USDA-ARS Hydrology and Remote Sensing Laboratory


Konstantinos M. Andreadis, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Francina Dominguez, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

L. Ruby Leung, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Viviana Maggioni, George Mason University

Matthew Rodell, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Yu Zhang, University of Texas at Arlington

Associate Editors

Ali S. Akanda, University of Rhode Island

Ali Behrangi, The University of Arizona

Tim Bellerby, University of Hull

Sylvain Biancamaria, LEGOS, CNES/CNRS/IRD/Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse III

Michael Bosilovich, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Xiaodong Chen, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Gabriëlle De Lannoy, KU Leuven

Stephen J. Déry, University of Northern British Columbia

Michael Durand, The Ohio State University

Ardeshir Ebtehaj, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Craig R. Ferguson, University at Albany, State University of New York

Renato Frasson, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Stephen Good, Oregon State University

Ethan Gutmann, National Center for Atmospheric Research

George J. Huffman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center 

Mimi Hughes, NOAA/Oceanic and Atmospheric Research/Physical Sciences Laboratory

Jiming Jin, Utah State University and Northwest A&F University

Pierre Kirstetter, University of Oklahoma and NOAA/National Severe Storms Laboratory

Mukesh Kumar, University of Alabama

Sujay V. Kumar, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Dongyue Li, University of California Los Angeles

Lifeng Luo, Michigan State University

Kaighin A. McColl, Harvard University

Daniel J. McEvoy, Desert Research Institute, Western Regional Climate Center

Veljko Petković, ESSIC/University of Maryland 

Youcun Qi, Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences and University of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Mark Raleigh, Oregon State University

Rafael Rosolem, University of Bristol

Shraddhanand Shukla, University of California, Santa Barbara

Susan Steele-Dunne, Delft University of Technology

Jackson Tan, University of Maryland Baltimore County and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Qiuhong Tang, Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Natthachet Tangdamrongsub, ESSIC, University of Maryland

Guiling Wang, University of Connecticut

Dominik Wisser, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Huan Wu, Sun Yat-sen University

Bin Yong, Hohai University

Yalei You, University of Maryland, College Park

Benjamin Zaitchik, Johns Hopkins University

Peer Review Support Staff

Andrea Herbst-Horner, Assistant to Wade T. Crow and Yu Zhang
Tiffany Bischoff, Assistant to L. Ruby Leung

Hayley Charney, Assistant to Konstantinos M. Andreadis, Francina Dominguez, Viviana Maggioni, and Matthew Rodell

Production Staff

Mike Friedman, Senior Manager for Publishing Operations
Hollis E. Baguskas, Lead Technical Editor
Nicole E. Rietmann, Lead Copy Editor
Danielle Joyce, Author Submission Support

1 2020 Journal Impact Factors by Clarivate Analytics; Meteorology and Atmospheric Science category.