Journal of Climate


The Journal of Climate (JCLI) (ISSN: 0894-8755; eISSN: 1520-0442) publishes research that advances basic understanding of the dynamics and physics of the climate system on large spatial scales, including variability of the atmosphere, oceans, land surface, and cryosphere; past, present, and projected future changes in the climate system; and climate simulation and prediction.

2020 Impact Factor: 5.1481

Submission Types

  • Articles: Up to 7500 words, including the body text, acknowledgments, and appendixes. The word limit does not include the title page, abstract, references, captions, tables, and figures. If a submission exceeds the word limit, the author must provide a justification for the length of the manuscript and request the Chief Editor’s approval of the overage. This request may be uploaded in a document with the "Cover Letter" item type or entered in the comment field in the submission system.
  • Reviews: Synthesis of previously published literature that may address successes, failures, and limitations. Requires Review Proposal. For more information, see Review Articles.
  • Comment and Reply Exchange: Comments are written in response to a published article and should be submitted within 2 years of the publication date of the original article (although the editor can waive this limit in extenuating circumstances). The author of the original article has the opportunity to write a Reply. These exchanges are published together. 
  • Corrigenda: The corrigendum article type is available for authors to address errors discovered in already published articles. For more information, see Corrigenda.

Editors and Staff Contacts

Co-Chief Editors

Timothy DelSole, George Mason University and Center for Ocean–Land–Atmosphere Studies
Mingfang Ting, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory


Matthew Collins, University of Exeter
Yi Deng, Georgia Institute of Technology
Dietmar Dommenget, Monash University
Jason Evans, University of New South Wales
Michael Neil Evans, University of Maryland, College Park
Isaac Held, Princeton University
Andy Hoell, NOAA/Physical Sciences Laboratory
Xianglei Huang, University of Michigan
Charles Koven, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tim Li, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
Wenhong Li, Duke University
Xin-Zhong Liang, Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, University of Maryland
Benjamin R. Lintner, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Shawn Marshall, University of Calgary
Seung-Ki Min, Pohang University of Science and Technology
Hisashi Nakamura, University of Tokyo
Joel Norris, University of California, San Diego
Yuko Okumura, The University of Texas at Austin
Oleg A. Saenko, Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis
Agus Santoso, University of New South Wales
James Screen, University of Exeter
Isla Simpson, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Darryn Waugh, The Johns Hopkins University
Baoqiang Xiang, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Laure Zanna, New York University
Rong Zhang, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Associate Editors

Richard P. Allan, University of Reading
Alyssa Atwood, University of Washington
Alexis Berg, Harvard University
Russel Blackport, Environment and Climate Change Canada
Massimo Bollasina, University of Edinburgh
Suzana Camargo, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Robin Chadwick, Met Office
Andrew Charlton-Perez, University of Reading
Laura Ciasto, University of Bergen
Peter Clark, Oregon State University
Kyle Clem, Victoria University of Wellington
Benjamin Cook, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Qinghua Ding, University of California, Santa Barbara
Amato T. Evan, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
Paul Field, Met Office
Chaim Garfinkel, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Peter Gent, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Dennis Hartmann, University of Washington
Chris Jones, Met Office
Jennifer E. Kay, University of Colorado at Boulder
Yu Kosaka, University of Tokyo
Young-Oh Kwon, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
John Lanzante, NOAA/Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Paul Loikith, Portland State University
Riyu Lu, LASG, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Elinor Martin, University of Oklahoma
Karen McKinnon, UCLA
Brian Medeiros, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Timothy Merlis, McGill University
Vincent Moron, Centre Européen de Recherche et d'Enseignement des Géosciences de l'Environnement
Kathy Pegion, George Mason University
Bing Pu, NOAA/Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Thomas Reichler, University of Utah
Benjamin Schenkel, University of Oklahoma
Hyodae Seo, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ryan Sriver, University of Ilinois at Urbana–Champaign
Lantao Sun, Colorado State University
Ken Takahashi, Servicio Nacional de Meteorología e Hidrología del Perú
Tomoki Tozuka, University of Tokyo
Gabriele Villarini, The University of Iowa
Hans von Storch, GKSS Research Centre
Hailan Wang, NOAA Climate Prediction Center
Hui Wang, NOAA/Climate Prediction Center
Lin Wang, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Da Yang, University of California, Davis
Song Yang, School of Atmospheric Sciences, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Sang-Wook Yeh, Hanyang University
Qing Yue, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Renhe Zhang, Fudan University
Xuebin Zhang, Environment Canada
Yang Zhang, Nanjing University
Francis Zwiers, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium

Peer Review Support Staff

Felicia Gullotta, Assistant to Timothy DelSole, Mingfang Ting Wenghong Li, and Rong Zhang

Cristina Barletta, Assistant to Jason Evans, Charles Koven, Hisashi Nakamura, and Agus Santoso

Tiffany Bischoff, Assistant to Xianglei Huang, Tim Li, Yuko Okumura, James Screen, Isla Simpson, and Baoqiang Xiang

Hayley Charney, Assistant to Yi Deng, Isaac Held, Shawn Marshall, and Darryn Waugh

Erin Gumbel, Assistant to Xin-Zhong Liang, and Joel Norris

Andrea Herbst-Horner, Assistant to Dietmar Dommenget

Christine Ziebarth, Assistant to Matthew Collins, Michael Neil Evans, Andy Hoell, Benjamin R. Lintner, Seung-Ki Min, Oleg A. Saenko, and Laure Zanna

Production Staff

Mike Friedman, Senior Manager for Publishing Operations
Richard R. Brandt, Lead Technical Editor
Kristin Gilbert, Lead Copy Editor
Liz Wright, Author Submission Support

1 2020 Journal Impact Factors by Clarivate Analytics; Meteorology and Atmospheric Science category.