Student Opportunities

Student Paper Competition

As part of the annual AMS meeting the Hydrology Committee sponsors a student paper competition to recognize the exceptional work of the students related to hydrologic sciences. Multiple judges will evaluate each student paper and the top two oral and poster presentations will be recognized and awarded a cash prize. Students enter the competition by indicating their intent to participate during the abstract submission process. We encourage all students both at the undergraduate and graduate level to enter. Further questions regarding the competition can be directed to Jing Tao

Previous winners of the Student Paper Competition


Oral 1st and 2nd

Poster 1st and 2nd


Shangyong Shi (Florida State University)

Sarah Ludwig (Columbia University)

Julia Jeworrek (University of British Columbia-Vancouver)

Eric Goldenstern (Colorado State University)


Chu-Chun Chen (Univ. of Illinois UC)

Caitlin Crossett (Univ. of Vermont)

Vesta Afzali Gorooh (Univ. of California Irvine)

Evan Dethier (Univ. of Illinois UC)


Justin M. Pflug (Univ. of Washington)

Meirah Williamson (Univ. of Florida)

Tyler Harrington (Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell)

Sehouevi Mawuton David Agoungbome (TU Delft)


Abigail Stokes (Univ. of Notre Dame)

Evan Dethier (Dartmouth College)

Venkata Konduri (Northeastern Univ.)

Eric Smyth (Univ. of Colorado)


Justin M. Pflug (Univ. of Washington)

Natalie Teale (Rutgers Univ.)

Kristen M. Whitney (Arizona State Univ.)

Sean Matus (Univ. of Illinois)


Jordan Christian (Univ. of Wyoming)

Melissa Wrzesien (Ohio State Univ.)

Ruochen Sun (Nanjing Univ., China)

Eli J. Dennis (Pennsylvania State Univ.)


Karl Lapo (Univ. of Washington)

Sebastian Los (Utah State Univ.)

Mary Forrester (Colorado School of Mines)

William Hahn (Univ. of Wisconsin)


Jessica Keune (Univ. of Bonn, Germany)

Christopher Zarzar (Mississippi State Univ.)

Klint Skelly (Plymouth State Univ.)

Melissa Wrzesien (Ohio State Univ.)


Rebekah Esmaili (Univ. of Maryland)

Andrea Thorstensen (UC Irvine)

Mallory Morton (Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln)

Brianne Smith (Princeton Univ.)


Alys Thomas (UC Irvine)

Daniel J. McEvoy (Univ. of Nevada)

John D. Hottenstein (Univ. of Arizona)

Kathleen A. Schiro (UCLA)


Christopher F. Labosier (Texas A&M Univ.)

Alys Thomas (UC Irvine)

Jonghun Kam (Princeton Univ.)

Heather Vazquez (Florida International Univ.)