Robert E. Horton Lecturer in Hydrology

One of the responsibilities of the Hydrology Committee is to recommend nominations for the Robert E. Horton Lecturer in Hydrology for final approval by the AMS council. The Robert E. Horton Lecturer in Hydrology is selected in recognition of a mid-career professional for their contributions towards advancing scientific understanding, research, or operational applications of hydrological/hydrometeorological sciences for societal benefits. The goal of this lectureship is to foster an interchange of ideas across disciplines that span the weather and climate enterprises represented by the AMS. Additional criteria considered for selection include, but are not limited to: the broad relevance of the topics pursued, relevant professional service record, and mentoring. The lecture, which may be either a general overview or a summary of recent work conducted in an area of particularly current interest, is presented at an AMS Annual Meeting or at an appropriate specialty conference. The lecture may be recorded for broader dissemination and, if desired by the Lecturer, a written version of the lecture will be posted as part of BAMS Online.

Nominations are considered by the STAC Committee on Hydrology, which makes recommendations for final approval by AMS Council. Nomations can be submitted by anyone and are due annually on May 1. For more information or to submit

a nomination, visit the AMS Lectureships web page.

Past recipients of the Robert E. Horton Lecturer in Hydrology
Year Recipient
2023 Dr. Hamid Moradkhani
2022 Francina Dominguez
2021 Wade Crow
2020 Terri Hogue
2019 Justin Sheffield
2018 Gerald R. North
2017 Hoshin V. Gupta
2016 Efi Foufoula-Georgiou
2015 P.C.D. ("Chris") Milly
2014 Randal Koster
2013 W. James Shuttleworth
2012 Dara Entekhabi
2011 James A. Smith
2010 John Schaake
2008 Dennis P. Lettenmaier
2006 Soroosh Sorooshian
2004 Alan K. Betts
2001 Eric F. Wood
1997 Eugene M. Rasmusson
1995 Ignacio Rodriguez-Iturbe
1993 Wilfried H. Brutsaert
1991 James C. I. Dooge
1988 Peter S. Eagleson
1985 Floyd A. Huff
1983 Robert J. C. Burnash
1982 Ray K. Linsley
1980 Eugene L. Peck