Committee on Tropical Meteorology and Tropical Cyclones

Mission Statement and Goals

Mission: To support the advancement, communication, and application of knowledge related to tropical meteorology and tropical cyclones

We will accomplish this mission through the following four goals:

  • Goal 1: To facilitate effective knowledge exchange and collaborations among academic, government, and private sectors through the organization of scientific meetings
  • Goal 2: To support the development of the next generation of professionals in science and operations of tropical meteorology through providing involvement and networking opportunities for students and early career professionals.
  • Goal 3: To recognize tropical meteorology community members for their diverse talents, including scientific, technical, and service achievements
  • Goal 4: To promote equity, inclusivity, and diversity through all committee activities
Who is on our committee?

See Membership.

What does our committee do?

Our responsibilities include:

  1. Organizing key AMS conferences/symposia. This includes the AMS Conference on Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology (every other year; 2022 35th conference) and at the AMS Annual Meeting the Symposium on the Madden-Julian Oscillation and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability (2022 10th Symposium) and Symposium on Tropical Meteorology and Tropical Cyclones (typically in off years of the AMS Hurricanes meeting; 2020 4th Symposium)
  2. Organizing key AMS awards: Joanne Simpson Tropical Meteorology Research Award (annual); STAC awards (annual) that rotate among Distinguished Scientific/Technological Accomplishment Award (2022), Outstanding Service Award (2023), and Outstanding Early Career Award (2024); the Banner Miller Award for outstanding journal publication (every other year; 2024); and the Max A. Eaton Student Prize for outstanding student presentation at the AMS Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology Conference.
  3. Advise on changes to terms in the AMS Glossary related to tropical meteorology.