Helmut E. Landsberg Award

The Landsberg award recognizes an individual or team for exemplary contributions to the fields of urban meteorology, climatology, or hydrology, including, but not restricted to, achievements through measurements or modeling that provide an improved understanding of atmospheric processes in urban environments, enhanced urban meteorological or air quality forecasting capabilities, advances in identifying and quantifying beneficial and adverse impacts in urban areas, or in recognition of service or applications in the field.

Nominations http://www.ametsoc.org/awards/index.cfm

Past Winners:

2018: James Marshall Shepherd, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

2017: Walter F. Dabberdt, Corporate Science Advisor, Vaisala Group, Helsinki, FINLAND (based in Boulder, Colorado facility).

2016: Michael Schatzmann, Professor (em.), Meteorological Institute, University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany.

2015: Dale A. Quattrochi and Jeffrey C. Luvall, Global Hydrology and Climate Center, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Huntsville, Alabama.

2014: Manabu Kanda, Professor, Department of International Development Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan.

2013:  Anthony J. Brazel, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona.  

2012: Erensto Jaurequi Ostos, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), Mexico City, Mexico.     

2011: Jerry K. Allwine, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington.

2010: Steven R. Hanna, Hanna Consultants, Kennebunkport, Maine.     

2009: Sue Grimmond, King's College London, United Kingdom.

2008: Robert D. Bornstein, San Jose State University, San Jose, California.     

2007: Tim R. Oke, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada.