16th Conference on Polar Meteorology Call for Papers

The 16th Conference on Polar Meteorology and Oceanography, sponsored by the American Meteorological Society and organized by the AMS Polar Meteorology and Oceanography Committee, was held 1-4 June, 2021. Due to continued uncertainty and restrictions on travel associated with the COVID-19 pandemic, this conference took place entirely virtually.

 

Papers were solicited on all aspects of polar meteorology and oceanography, including but not limited to:

  • Climate variability and change in the polar regions;
  • Rapid environmental change in the polar regions;
  • Interactions among polar atmosphere-ocean-land-ice components;
  • Atmospheric, ocean, land ice, or sea ice physical processes;
  • High latitude atmospheric and oceanic dynamics;
  • Weather and climate modelling in the polar regions;
  • Connections of the polar regions with the tropics and midlatitudes

 

The abstract submission fee of $95 USD was charged at the time of submission and refundable only if the abstract was not accepted. Authors of accepted presentations were notified via email by mid April 2021. 

 

The conference program was optimized for a virtual platform. Sessions took place during the same set of standard work hours for the contiguous United States (e.g., 12pm-5pm Eastern time / 11am-4pm Central time / 10am-3pm Mountain time / 9am-2pm Pacific time). Live oral and poster sessions did not overlap.

 

Submissions by students, early-career scientists, and underrepresented groups were prioritized, and limited funds in the form of registration fee waivers were available to support participation. Application instructions were provided when abstract acceptance notifications were sent.

 

For further program information please contact the program chairs, Edward Blanchard-Wrigglesworth (email: edwardbw@uw.edu) and Alice DuVivier (email: duvivier@ucar.edu).