Journal of Climate


The Journal of Climate (JCLI) publishes research that advances basic understanding of the dynamics and physics of the climate system on large spatial scales, including variability of the atmosphere, oceans, land surface, and cryosphere; past, present, and projected future changes in the climate system; and climate simulation and prediction.

2019 Impact Factor: 5.7071

Submission Types

  • Articles: Up to 7500 words (approximately 26 double-spaced pages), including the body text, acknowledgments, and appendixes. The word limit does not include the title page, abstract, references, captions, tables, and figures. If a submission exceeds the word limit, the author must provide a justification for the length of the manuscript and request the Chief Editor’s approval of the overage. This request may be uploaded in a document with the "Cover Letter" item type or entered in the comment field in the submission system.
  • Reviews: Synthesis of previously published literature that may address successes, failures, and limitations. Requires Review Proposal. For more information, see Review Articles.
  • Comment and Reply Exchange: Comments are written in response to a published article and should be submitted within 2 years of the publication date of the original article (although the editor can waive this limit in extenuating circumstances). The author of the original article has the opportunity to write a Reply. These exchanges are published together. 
  • Corrigenda: The corrigendum article type is available for authors to address errors discovered in already published articles. For more information, see Corrigenda.

Editors and Staff Contacts

Co-Chief Editors

John C. H. Chiang, University of California, Berkeley
Timothy DelSole, George Mason University and Center for Ocean–Land–Atmosphere Studies


Mathew Barlow, University of Massachusetts Lowell
Amy Clement, University of Miami
Matthew Collins, University of Exeter
Yi Deng, Georgia Institute of Technology
Jason Evans, University of New South Wales
Michael Neil Evans, University of Maryland, College Park
Pierre Friedlingstein, University of Exeter
Isaac Held, Princeton University
Xianglei Huang, University of Michigan
Tim Li, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
Wenhong Li, Duke University
Xin-Zhong Liang, Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, University of Maryland
Benjamin R. Lintner, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Seung-Ki Min, Pohang University of Science and Technology
Hisashi Nakamura, University of Tokyo
Joel Norris, University of California, San Diego
Oleg A. Saenko, Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis
James Screen, University of Exeter
Karen Shell, Oregon State University
Mingfang Ting, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Darryn Waugh, The Johns Hopkins University
Baoqiag Xiang, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Rong Zhang, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Associate Editors

Richard P. Allan, University of Reading
Elizabeth Barnes, Colorado State University
Greg Bodeker, Bodeker Scientific
Massimo Bollasina, University of Edinburgh
Suzana Camargo, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Robin Chadwick, Met Office
Andrew Charlton-Perez, University of Reading
Laura Ciasto, University of Bergen
Peter Clark, Oregon State University
Judah Cohen, Atmospheric and Environmental Research, Inc.
Benjamin Cook, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Kerry Cook, The University of Texas at Austin
Aiguo Dai, University at Albany, State University of New York
Qinghua Ding, University of California, Santa Barbara
Dietmar Dommenget, Monash University
Amato T. Evan, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
Paul Field, Met Office
Peter Gent, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Dennis Hartmann, University of Washington
Gabriele Hegerl, University of Edinburgh
Andy Hoell, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Christian Jakob, Bureau of Meteorology Research Centre
Chris Jones, Met Office
Thomas Knutson, NOAA/Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Yu Kosaka, University of Tokyo
Young-Oh Kwon, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
John Lanzante, NOAA/Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
David Lorenz, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Riyu Lu, LASG, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Brian Medeiros, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Gerald Meehl, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Vincent Moron, Centre Européen de Recherche et d'Enseignement des Géosciences de l'Environnement
Masamichi Ohba, Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry
Yuko Okumura, The University of Texas at Austin
Thomas Reichler, University of Utah
Ben Sanderson, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Agus Santoso, University of New South Wales
Isla Simpson, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Ryan Sriver, University of Ilinois at Urbana–Champaign
Ken Takahashi, Instituto Geofísico del Perú
Yukari Takayabu, University of Tokyo
David W. J. Thompson, Colorado State University
Tomoki Tozuka, University of Tokyo
Gabriele Villarini, The University of Iowa
Hans von Storch, GKSS Research Centre
Chunzai Wang, South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Rob Wood, University of Washington
Renguang Wu, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Song Yang, NOAA/NESDIS/Center for Satellite Applications and Research
Sang-Wook Yeh, Hanyang University
Jin-Ho Yoon, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology
Chidong Zhang, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami
Renhe Zhang, Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences
Xuebin Zhang, Environment Canada
Tianjun Zhou, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Francis Zwiers, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium

Peer Review Support Staff

Laura Buttner, Assistant to John C. H. Chiang, Timothy DelSole, Mathew Barlow, Amy Clement, and Hisashi Nakamura

Hayley Charney, Assistant to Yi Deng and Darryn Waugh

Felicia Gullotta, Assistant to Wenhong Li and Mingfang Ting

Erin Gumbel, Assistant to Pierre Friedlingstein, Xin-Zhong Liang, Seung-Ki Min, Joel Norris, and Rong Zhang

Kerry Norton, Assistant to Jason Evans, Isaac Held, Xianglei Huang, Tim Li, James Screen, and Baoqiang Xiang

Christine Ziebarth, Assistant to Matthew Collins, Michael Neil Evans, Benjamin R. Lintner, Oleg A. Saenko, and Karen Shell

Production Staff

Richard R. Brandt and John K. Creilson, Lead Technical Editors
Kristin Gilbert, Lead Copy Editor
Liz Wright, Author Submission Support

1 2019 Journal Impact Factors by Clarivate Analytics; Meteorology and Atmospheric Science category.