Call For Papers

17th Conference on Mountain Meteorology, 27 June – 1 July 2016, Burlington, Vermont

The 17th Conference on Mountain Meteorology, sponsored by the American Meteorological Society (AMS) and organized by the AMS Committee on Mountain Meteorology was held in Burlington, VT at The Hilton Burlington ( The dates of the meeting were 27 June – 1 July 2016.  

            The program committee for this conference had contributions on all aspects of mountain meteorology, including but not limited to:

  • Stable and convective orographic precipitation
  • Boundary layers and turbulence in complex terrain
  • Diurnal mountain winds and cold-air pools
  • Mountain waves and terrain induced windstorms
  • Barrier jets and cold-air damming
  • Numerical weather prediction, data assimilation, and forecasting in complex terrain
  • Applications of mountain meteorology (e.g. air quality, fire dynamics, and wind resource assessment)
  • Mountain climate and hydrology
  • Biosphere-atmosphere interactions in complex terrain
  • New or emerging topics in mountain meteorology
  • Results from recent field campaigns

 An abstract fee of $95 (payable by credit card or purchase order) was charged at the time of submission (refundable only if abstract is not accepted). The $95 abstract fee includes the submission of your abstract, the posting of your extended abstract, and the uploading and recording of your presentation that will be archived on the AMS Web site.

Authors of accepted presentations were notified via e-mail by early April 2016. Instructions for formatting extended abstracts were posted on the AMS website. Extended manuscripts (file size up to 3 MB) had to be submitted electronically by 20 June 2016. All abstracts, extended abstracts, and presentations are available on the AMS website.

For further information, please contact the program co-chairs: Stephan De Wekker ([email protected]) or Erik Crosman ([email protected]).