The Commission on Professional Affairs is one of the six commissions of the American Meteorological Society that report directly to the AMS Council.  Erica Grow Cei (NOAA) is the current commissioner on professional affairs; Justin Pullin is the incoming commissioner.  Mike Augustyniak (CBS News), Maureen McCann (Spectrum News), Jay Trobec (KELO-TV), and John Morales (NBC Miami, ClimaData) are past commissioners.

The seven boards that operate within this commission represent professional meteorologists in various areas of the weather industry, including the oversight of all AMS certifications.

If you are interested in volunteering to serve on one of the these boards, please contact the respective board chair. Volunteers are always needed to serve on boards and committees, to help organize conferences and workshops, and to participate in outreach initiatives. 

Board on Best Practices

Board on Broadcast Meteorology

Board of Certified Consulting Meteorologists

Board of Digital Meteorologists

Board on Continuing Professional Development

Board for Early Career Professionals

Board for Operational Government Meteorologists

Board for Private Sector Meteorologists

Early Career Leadership Academy

Board on Student Affairs