Student Opportunities

Share, learn, and collaborate at a specialty conference

AMS recognizes the considerable benefit that students can gain from attending conferences even if they are not presenting a paper and wants to encourage interactions between students and other conference attendees.

 

AMS Student Travel Grant

The 23rd Conference on Applied Climatology  has an AMS Student Travel Grant Available. The deadline date is 5 May 2017. Please see the Student Travel Grant Page for more information and to apply.

 

Student Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer students are needed for registration and audio/visual support during the conference. Student volunteers are required to be in attendance the entire conference, and be available to work 1/2 each day from Sunday through Wednesday. The students will work either the first or second shift (i.e., morning or afternoon). For volunteering, the student will get their registration fee waived and $25.00 per day volunteered for food allowance. Transportation and lodging are not covered. This program is a first come, first served basis. A limited number of students will be needed for the conference. Those students interested should contact Gillian Peguero, gpeguero@ametsoc.org and Brenda Ward, bward@ametsoc.org, for details.

 

Student Award Opportunities

The Committee of Applied Climatology of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) is proud to award best student presentation, runner-up student presentation, best student poster, and runner-up student poster at the conference. These awards recognize outstanding student contributions based on an evaluation of both the submitted written paper and corresponding oral and poster presentation. 

 

Students are asked at the time of the abstract submission if they want to be considered for such awards.  In addition, students who want to be considered for travel support will be asked to note this when submitting their abstract, and may be asked to submit a note of justification for funds. 

 

For additional information please contact the program chairpersons,

Dan Collins <dan.collins@noaa.gov>, Ed Boone <elboone@vcu.edu>, Eric Gilleland <ericg@ucar.edu>, Nathaniel C. Johnson <ncj2@princeton.edu>, Amy McGovern <amcgovern@ou.edu>, and Brian Reich <bjreich@ncsu.edu>.