The Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer

The 2019 Lecturers have been selected by AMS Council. Nominations for the 2020 Lecturers will open in November 2018.


The Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer is selected in recognition of significant contributions to the understanding of atmospheric and oceanic fluid dynamics, the circulation of the middle atmosphere, or the dynamics of climate. The lecture is presented at the AMS Annual Meeting or an appropriate specialty meeting. The lecture may be recorded for broader dissemination and, if desired by the Lecturer, a written version of the lecture will be posted as part of BAMS Online.

The STAC Commissioner is responsible for forming the selection committee, which makes recommendations for final approval by AMS Council. The selection committee, composed of a five-person panel including the Commissioner as chair, two members from the Atmospheric and Oceanic Fluid Dynamics Committee, one member from the Middle Atmosphere Committee, and one member from the Committee on Climate Variability and Change.