December STAC Newsletter

37th Conference on Radar Meteorology: The Conference, co-chaired by Dr. Alexander Ryzhkov from NOAA/NSSL and Prof. Tian-You Yu from the University of Oklahoma, was held at the Embassy Suites in Norman, Oklahoma from 14-18 September 2015. The conference set a record for AMS Radar Conference attendance (445), had attendees from Europe, Africa, Asia, and South America, and featured keynote presentations from Prof. Matt Kumjian (Microphysical Studies), Prof. Tian-You Yu (New and Emerging Radar Technology), Prof. Larry Carey (Mesoscale and Severe Weather), Dr. Brenda Dolan (Airborne and Spaceborne Radars), Dr. Michael Frech (Operational Radar Networks and Products), Dr. Jian Zhang (Quantitative Precipitation Estimation and Hydrological Applications), and Dr. Rita Roberts (Use of Radar Data for Nowcasting and Numerical Weather Prediction Models). The program featured an evening session entitled, "Contributions by the Norman Community to the Advancement of Radar Meteorology, in Honor of Dale Sirmans and John Carter," which outlined the scope, breadth, and importance of radar research and development that has occurred in Oklahoma over the last half century or more. Tours were held to many sites in Norman, and the ice breaker was held at the National Weather Center on the University of Oklahoma Campus. Several student prizes were awarded during the conference. The Geotis Prize, named in honor of radar pioneer Spiros G. Geotis, and given to the best oral presentation and extended abstract, was awarded to Cameron Kleinkort at Colorado State University. Oral presentation prizes were also awarded to Curtis J. Riganti (University of Nebraska at Lincoln, 1st place), Joseph A. Finlon (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2nd place), and Ya-Chien Feng (McGill University, 3rd place). Poster presentation prizes were awarded to A. Addison Alford (University of Oklahoma, 1st place), Xingchao Chen (Nanjing University, 2nd place), and Ricardo Reinoso-Rondinel (Delft University of Technology, 3rd place). In addition, Program Chair Travel Awards were given to Haonan Chen (Colorado State University) and Joshua Soderholm (University of Queensland). During the meeting, the following people were elected to the AMS Radar Committee: Dr. Ali Tokay (incoming chair), Prof. Matt Kumjian, and Dr. Scott Ellis. Prof. Steve Nesbitt is the outgoing chair. The 38th AMS Conference on Radar Meteorology will be held in Fall 2017 in the Chicagoland area, chaired by Dr. Scott Collis and Dr. Scott Ellis. Stephen Nesbitt, snesbitt@uiuc.edu.

STAC Annual Meeting: The STAC Annual Meeting will be held on Sunday, January 10th, from 11 AM to 3 PM in the Rosedown Room of the Hilton Riverside Hotel. The format of the meeting will be somewhat different this year, one designed to encourage more interaction and feedback from STAC chairs. A conference/symposium Program Chair Guidance meeting will be held immediately before the Saturday STAC Meeting at 10 AM in the same room. This will review the steps involved for both program chairs and AMS staff when planning a conference. Additionally, if your Board/Committee has scheduled a meeting during the week of the Annual Meeting, the three STAC Commissioners will attend to help with any issues that may need to be discussed. Dave Stensrud, david.stensrud@psu.edu.

December 2015 Page 1

Planning for the 2017 Annual Meeting: Information on your 2017 AMS Annual Meeting plans is due now. Please provide the AMS meeting staff with:

- Name of your Conference/Symposium,
- Name of AMS STAC Committee that is organizing your meeting,
- List of proposed session topics,
- Name and contact information of program chair(s),
- Preferred days for your meeting to be held, and
- Description of student activities to be held (if planned and approved and see options noted below).

The staff will build that Call for Papers off of this information. If you do not have your list of proposed topics in place by the December 15th, please be sure to at least pass along your conference name as well as the name and contact information for the program chairs. Claudia Groski, cgorski@ametsoc.org.

Meeting Funding Requests: Boards and Committees planning conferences and symposiums for the 2017 Annual Meeting should submit funding requests for student best paper and travel awards to your lead meeting planners as soon as possible. This will ensure these awards are noted in the call for papers giving all interested students the opportunity to apply for the travel awards and to submit abstracts in August, which might lead to a best paper award in 2017. The funding request form can be found at: http://annual.ametsoc.org/2015/index.cfm/information-for/program-chairs/meeting-funding-form/. Dave Stensrud, david.stensrud@psu.edu

Conference/ Symposium Summaries: Starting with the 2016 Annual Meeting conferences and symposiums, the STAC Commissioners will be asking STAC Boards and Committees (B/Cs) chairs and their program chairs to provide a summary of their sponsored conferences and symposiums. A good example of what the Commissioners will be looking for in these summaries is the *37th Conference on Radar Meteorology* summary, the first item in this month's Newsletter. Because of space limitations of the Newsletter, these summaries should not exceed half a page and will be published over three or four months following the Annual Meeting. B/Cs are encouraged to provide extended conference and symposium summaries and pictures on their own STAC web pages. Dave Stensrud, david.stensrud@psu.edu

December 2015 Page 2