Meeting Summary

33rd AMS Conference on Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology

16-20 April 2018

The 33rd AMS Conference on Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology was held 16-20 April 2018 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. This conference continued a period of extraordinary interest in tropical cyclones and tropical meteorology. About 800 presentations were presented at the conference, and about 200 of those presentations were made by the future leaders in our field: our students.

The program represented a true blend of wide-ranging topics in tropical meteorology and oceanography, including convection, tropical waves, tropical cyclones, extratropical transition, intraseasonal variability, large-scale circulation, monsoons, El Niño/Southern Oscillation, tropical-extratropical interactions, air-sea interaction, climate, observing systems and strategies, data assimilation, numerical modeling, operational forecasting, and hazard communication.

The conference consisted of four parallel oral sessions and several poster sessions. In addition, there were several special themed sessions at the conference, including a commemorative session for Dr. Bill Gray, and a workshop on the application of GOES-R, as well as Town Hall meetings on TROPICS and CYGNSS satellites, and special airborne-collected hurricane datasets.

Six student awards were given at the conference, including the Max Eaton Award, the Outstanding Student Oral Presentation Award, and the Outstanding Student Poster Awards.

33rd CONFERENCE ON HURRICANES AND TROPICAL METEOROLOGY PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Zhuo Wang and Pat Harr, 2018 Program Chairpersons George Bryan, Joe Cione, Paul Roundy, Peter Black, I-I Lin, Phil Klotzbach, Chris Landsea, Pat Fitzpatrick, Peter Wolf, Liguang Wu, Ming Zhao, David Romps, Fuqing Zhang, Cody Fritz, Vijay Tallapragada, Sundararaman Gopalakrishnan,

Chidong Zhang, Kunio Yoneyama, Eric Maloney, Sue Chen, Charles Jones, Xianan Jiang, Salvatore Pascale, Jason Dunion,

Eric Hendricks, Eric Blake, Carl Schreck, Jim Doyle, Chun-Chieh Wu, Haiyang Jiang, Chris Davis, Rob Rogers, Anthony Didlake, Steve Guimond, Dan Chavas, Michael Riemer, George Kiladis