The AMS Middle Atmosphere Committee would like to congratulate Dr. Jadwiga (Yaga) Richter, the 2021 recipient of the Distinguished Scientific/Technological Accomplishment award by the AMS Scientific and Technological Activities Commission. We are pleased to recognize Dr. Richter "for extensive contributions to fundamental understanding of middle atmosphere waves and dynamics and their improved simulation in climate models".


Our 2019 STAC award winner is Dr. Gloria Manney for Distinguished Scientific/Technological Accomplishment, "for her extraordinary contributions to furthering understanding of stratospheric dynamics, polar processing, and tracer transport in the UTLS."

We had 6 award winners for AMS Best Student Presentation at the 2019 AMS Middle Atmosphere Conference: Leong Wai Sui, Zachary Labe, Jessica Oerhlein, Wanying Kang, Zane Martin, and Katia Lezine.  Congratulations to our winners and thanks to all our students for their excellent presentations!


The AMS Middle Atmosphere Committee encourages nominations for the AMS Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer. The Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer is selected in recognition of significant contributions to the understanding of atmospheric and oceanic fluid dynamics, the circulation of the middle atmosphere, or the dynamics of climate. The Society’s lectureships are, as of 2020, intended to recognize outstanding mid-career scientists.

To get more information on or to nominate someone for the Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer, visit this page:

To see past Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer winners, visit this page: