Robert Leviton Award

Every year the AMS recognizes outstanding undergraduate and graduate meteorology students with various awards.  The nomination for the Robert Leviton Award originates solely with the Committee on Measurements. THE COMMITTEE WELCOMES NOMINATIONS FOR THIS AWARD.

The Robert Leviton Award is presented for the best student paper on the development or evaluation of atmospheric instrumentation or unique measurement techniques. The paper selected for the award may be chosen either from those given at a designated national meeting or technical conference of the AMS or from papers appearing in one of its journals. The Committee on Measurements will submit a recommendation to the STAC Commissioner, who shall review the recommendation and then present it to the Council for approval.  To be considered for the award, an entrant should either be enrolled as a full-time student or be a student who has just completed a degree but has not yet begun employment at the time the paper is given or submitted for publication. The Robert Leviton Award carries a cash prize of $300. This award honors Robert Leviton, who devoted nearly his entire professional career to endeavors related to the measurement of wind, temperature, pressure, and humidity in the atmosphere. He was one of the pioneers in reducing large datasets from radiosondes using a computer.

Past recipients of the Robert Leviton Award:

2012 – S. Joseph Munchak, "for his paper, A Modular Optimal Estimation Method for Combined Radar-Radiometer Precipitation Profiling."

2001 – Raymond A. Shaw, "for his paper on the development of an electrodynamic levitation system to study individual cloud particles typically found in the upper troposphere."

2000 – Alison W. Grimsdell, "for her paper on convective boundary layer height measurement with wind profilers and comparison to cloud base."

1998 – Seijo Kato, "for his papers evaluating the performance of radiometers at a field site of the Atmospheric Radiation Measurement Program."

1996 – Scott J. Richardson, "for his papers on simulation and analysis of the problem of the coupling sensors to the atmosphere."

1994 – Igor Gonta, "for his paper describing a calibrated Franklin Chimes to measure atmospheric potential."

1990 – Haflidi H. Johnson, "for his paper on an oscillatory anemometer."

1987 – Gregory J. Byrne, "for contributions to the development of balloon-borne corona probes to measure thunderstorm electric fields."