Annual Meeting of the AMS Committee on Climate Variability and Change 15 February 2024

Report

The committee met virtually on February 15th 2024 and discussed topics outlined in the following.

I. Introductions and Membership changes

Around the "table" – please take a moment to introduce yourself!

Rotating Out January 2024

Isla Simpson, Bin Guan, Rob Korty, Doug Nedza, Jake Lindblom Thank you for your leadership and great contributions to the CVC. We hope you will continue to share ideas with the committee as we strive to improve.

Second term ending January 2025:

Bing Pu Young-Oh Kwon Wassila Thiaw

Second term ending January 2026:

Chris Forest Antonietta Capotondi Justin Mankin Karen McKinnon Gretchen Keppel-Aleks

New members:

Emily Becker, Ademe Mekonnen, Christopher Castro, Shineng Hu, Dan Li, Anthony Wilson (student member)

Thanks to the membership committee Antonietta Capotondi (chair), Robert Korty, Isla Simpson, Karen McKinnon, Bin Guan

Three of the members are rotating out. The new members to this sub-committee are Chris Castro, Youngji Joh, and Justin Mankin

II. Review of Goals and Accomplishments for 2023 to inform 2024 action items

A. CVC STAC Award

Stephen Yeager, Category of Distinguished Scientific/Technological Accomplishment Award. The citation reads:

"For his scientific and community leadership on understanding the role of North Atlantic climate variability and advancing multi-year to decadal prediction especially through leading the development of large community datasets with the Community Earth System Model."

Thanks to the award committee: Karen McKinnon (chair), Suzana Carmargo, Gretchen Keppel-Aleks, Art Miller, and Robert Korty.

Rob is rotating out. Chris Forest has agreed to step up and to join this subcommittee. Nominations are due in October and we are due to make an award in the category of Outstanding Early Career Award

B. The Syukuro Manabe Climate Research Award

Ronald Stouffer, the citation reads:

"For groundbreaking development of coupled atmosphere-ocean climate models with innovative applications to characterize and quantify global climate variability and change"

Manabe Award Committee: Wassila Thiaw (chair), Antonietta Capotondi, Robert Korty, Young-Oh Kwon, (Non-CVC: Noah Diffenbaugh, David Thompson, Thomas Delworth) Rob is rotating out and Suzana Camargo has stepped up to replace him.

AMS Council and the members of this award committee have noted that Syukuro Manabe Climate Research Award is not attracting many applications. We encourage CVC members and the AMS community at large to nominate colleagues who are worthy of receiving this prestigious award.

Information can be found here:

https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/awards/awards-for-outstanding-contributions/the-syukuro-manabe-climate-research-award/

C. Website

Thanks to our student member Doug Nedza.

D. CVC Membership

CVC membership is important for the CVC conference:

Program co-chairs; ideas for organizing sessions, membership committee; CVC STAC Award committee, Syukuro Manabe Climate Research Award, judges for student Competition, etc.

Nominations due to the AMS October 1st, but need to start the process much sooner. Rotating out 2025: Art Miller, Bing Pu, Young-Oh Kwon, Wassila Thiaw Need to think about bringing in new members by January 2025.

Need to expand CVC membership

Attract experts in environmental sciences and/or working at the intersection of science and applications

Expand participation of students and early career scientists

E. 2024 CVC Conference and Plan for 2025

Thanks to our Program Chairs for the 2024 Annual Meeting: Suzana Carmargo and Justin Mankin.

Report on 2024 CVC Conference

The 37th CVC Conference, by pure measures was a success. It was the largest conference in the 104th AMS Meeting, with over 16 sessions and an additional 11 joint sessions, spanning fundamental topics of mechanisms and prediction of weather and climate hazards, as well as making connections to translation and decision-making. The Conference had over 300 abstract submissions, filling over 80 oral presentations over the four-day meeting. CVC is a robust and engaged community.

The success of the Conference occurred in spite of website and considerable planning difficulties, which the CVC committee is looking to rectify by providing a clear institutional on-boarding document for new Conference Co-Chairs, in an effort to ensure a smooth execution of all tasks related to the planning the conference.

Plan for 2025 Annual Meeting

Program co-chairs for 2025: Gretchen Keppel-Aleks and Youngji Joh

1. Curated sessions

Identify curated sessions on timely topics aligned with theme of the annual meeting 2025 meeting: "Toward a Thriving Planet: Charting the Course Across Scales" Invite chairs to organize sessions and speakers for those sessions.

2. Organize joint sessions.

Examples from 2024 Annual Meeting:

38th Hydrology

24th Conference on Planned and Inadvertent Weather Modification

28th Conference on Probability and Statistics

12th Symposium on Building a Weather-Ready Nation

23 Al for Environmental Science

12 MJO and Sub-Seasonal Monsoon Variability

Past Joint Sessions:

Integrated Observing and Assimilation Systems for the Atmosphere, Oceans, and Land Surface (IOAS-AOLS)

Atmospheric Chemistry

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions

Weather – Climate and the New Energy Economy

Advances in Modeling using Python

High Performance Computing for Weather, Water, and Climate

3. Organize interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary panels.

Example from the 2024 meeting:

Joint Panel on climate and health with the 15th Conference on Environment and Health

Other ideas to explore:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions

Integrated Observing and Assimilation Systems for the Atmosphere, Oceans, and Land Surface (IOAS-AOLS)

High Performance Computing for Weather, Water, and Climate

Societal Applications: Policy, Research and Practice

III. Nominations for Awards and Fellowship

Please consider nominating colleagues who you feel strongly are well deserving of an AMS award or to be inducted Fellow of the AMS.

Nominations are due May 1st every year.

STAC

https://www.ametsoc.org/stac/

STAC Level Awards

For all nominations, submit CV and nomination letter to the subcommittee co-chair, Karen

- 1. Outstanding Early Career: within 10 years of having earned their highest degree, or under 40 years of age when nominated; with consideration for careers interrupted by family leave, military service, etc.
- 2. Distinguished Scientific/Technological Accomplishment Award: an individual who has made significant contributions to the discipline and is well recognized within the discipline as being a science/technological leader. This award could be for a mid-career or late-career individual.
- 3. Outstanding Service Award: an individual who has made significant contributions to the STAC Committee/Board or in service to the larger community in the Committee/Board discipline.

https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/awards/stac-level-award-information/

Nominations for the Syukuro Manabe Climate Research Award

https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/awards/awards-foroutstanding-contributions/the-syukuro-manabe-climate-research-award/

Awards Nominations

https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/awards/award-nomination-information/

Fellows Nominations

https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/fellows/