Terms of Reference


The BEED Committee under the leadership of Bill Mahoney of NCAR (Chair of BEED) in 2005 discussed forming an energy committee which would report directly to the BEED committee. The energy sector was not well represented within AMS and there were not many individuals that actively participated in AMS events/activities even with the rapid growth of the energy sector. The BEED felt this new committee would be a great way to capture individuals working in energy meteorology. The committee then reached out to Jon Davis to be the first chair of the committee who then assembled a group of meteorologists/atmospheric scientists with a wide breath of expertise and backgrounds across energy meteorology.


Promote growth and collaboration of the global weather, energy and climate communities on risk management, demand, transmission and storm management by closely interacting and engaging with the energy industry toward the mutual benefit of all parties.


To bridge the gap between the weather, climate and energy communities to better understand their respective focus and needs. In addition, facilitate discussion of current and future meteorological forecast methodologies, trends and technologies, identify solutions and services as well as explore business opportunities.


The Energy Committee will develop and participate in the following focal activities:

  • Provide opportunities for the global weather, climate and energy/utility markets to interact and discuss topics of mutual interest (e.g. energy conference at annual meeting, short courses, forums and town hall meetings)
  • Identify events for the global weather, climate, and energy communities to interact (e.g. weather, climate, and energy industry conferences, workshops, and symposia)
  • Encourage collaboration amongst the weather, climate and atmospheric science communities in the global advancement and use of meteorological models and data for varies time horizons ranging from real-time to seasonal.
  • Facilitate dialog between the energy industries (i.e. risk management, demand, transmission and storm preparedness) and the weather/climate enterprise.

Committee Structure:

The AMS Energy Committee will be structured as follows:

  • The Energy Committee will be a permanent standing Committee, reporting to the Board on Global Strategies (BGS).
  • The Energy Committee will consist of six (6) to fifteen (15) professional members including the Chairperson(s). In addition, the EC will also include up to 3 student members.
  • Professional Membership terms (nominally) will consist of three (3) year terms with 1/3 typically rotating off the Committee each year
  • Student members will serve 3-year terms with an option to extend an additional year, and may transition to regular membership upon graduation if there is an open slot available. Student members have the same full voting privileges as regular members.
  • Membership terms will begin each year at the AMS Annual Meeting.
  • Membership shall represent the three (3) community sectors (e.g. private/commercial, government and academic)
  • Candidate committee members will be nominated by the Energy Committee Chair and approved by the BGS Chair and the Commissioner of the CWWCE.
  • At the discretion of the EC Chair and with consultation and approval of the BGS Chair and Commissioner of the CWWCE:
    • Membership terms may be shorter than three (3) years or extended beyond three (3) years
    • Membership representation may temporarily include fewer than all three (3) community sectors
  • At the discretion of the Chair, with BGS Chair and CWWCE Commissioner consent, a Committee member who does not participate in Committee activities for a period of twelve or more months can be removed and a replacement named
  • The Chair, shall be an ex officio member of the BGS
  • Subcommittees may be established by the Energy Committee to address specific topics of interest
  • The Energy Committee will work with the Renewable Energy Committee (REC) on the organization and planning of the Conference on the Weather, Climate and New Energy Economy at the AMS Annual Meeting.
    • The Program chair responsibility will be shared by the EC and REC (minimum of 2 Co-Chairs is recommended)
    • Both Committees will have input into the call for papers, and will be responsible for helping to encourage members of academia, government and the private sector to submit abstracts
  • The two Committees will work to make sure that the Conference on the Weather, Climate, and New Energy Economy conference provides content for both the renewable and traditional energy sectors. Two members of the EC Committee will sit in on meetings of the Renewable Energy Committee in order to ensure open dialog and joint efforts (where appropriate) between the Committees