Student Opportunities

Student Travel Grants

Student Travel Grant Page for more information and to apply.

Student Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer students are needed for registration and audio/visual support during the conference. Student volunteers are required to be in attendance the entire conference, and be available to work 1/2 each day from Sunday through Friday. The students will work either the first or second shift (i.e., morning or afternoon). For volunteering, the student will get their registration fee waived and $25.00 per day for food allowance. This program is a first come, first served basis. A limited number of students will be needed for the conference. Those students interested should please contact Jen Ives at for details.

Student and Young Scientist Award Opportunities

Best Student Presentation Awards

The Spiros G. Geotis Student Prize is awarded for the best student paper presented at each technical conference on radar meteorology. The paper will be judged on content and presentation by a panel selected by the conference program committee. Entrants must be currently enrolled in high school, college, or graduate school. Students who have completed a degree but have not begun regular employment at the time of the conference are also eligible. The prize, an AMS reference book, $200, plus a certificate, was established to recognize Spiros G. Geotis' lifelong contributions to radar meteorology and the encouragement he gave to so many young researchers. Students need to indicate their intent to participate in this competition when they submit their abstract. 

Student Travel Awards

Several student travel awards will also be available to help supplement travel expenses for students who will be presenting at the conference. Students with limited travel funding or those traveling large distances to the conference will be favored for this award. Interested students should contact the program co-chairs: Scott Collis, and Scott Ellis, The deadline for travel award application submissions has now passed and winners have been notified.