James Doyle

James Doyle

For over a century, the AMS has been at the nexus of our atmospheric, oceanic, and hydrologic sciences community. In this era of rapid scientific change and technological advancements, we need a strong and effective AMS more than ever to enable our enterprise to continue to flourish through advancement of our sciences, technologies, applications, and services. In spite of the great many past successes of AMS, there are challenges ahead for our Society, and I would like to help the AMS to continue to excel as a world-class organization.

If I am elected as councilor, I will work to strengthen partnerships across the enterprise, encouraging the government, academic, and private sectors to work more effectively together to better meet the needs of society.  The goals of our enterprise increasingly require interdisciplinary expertise, and I will encourage AMS to be responsive to the evolving research and education needs that cut across disciplines such as data science, machine learning, and earth system science.  We need to provide the next generation of scientists and educators with a strong foundation that embraces new tools and approaches.  I will work to increase opportunities for early-career mentoring and outreach programs, and foster diversity and inclusiveness across the Society. The global pandemic ushered in changes in the way we work as scientists, how we collaborate, and how we communicate our science. The AMS has done an admiral job creating effective hybrid and remote meeting environments, and these capabilities should be expanded to enhance the communication and promotion of our science, and increase collaboration across the sectors of the AMS to further benefit society.

I would be honored to serve you on the AMS Council. If elected, I will work diligently to help the AMS address emerging challenges including expanding membership through mentoring, outreach and networking. 


James Doyle is a senior scientist at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Marine Meteorology Division in Monterey, CA.  He leads basic and applied research teams focused on atmospheric processes, predictability, and the development of innovative weather models including the Navy’s operational COAMPS mesoscale and tropical cyclone prediction systems.  He has mentored 14 post-doctoral scientists and numerous students.  Previously, he served as the head of Mesoscale Modeling at NRL for two decades.  His experiences at NRL and as a visiting scientist at NOAA and ECMWF provide important perspectives on research and operations partnerships.

Doyle is a Fellow of the AMS (2011), and has served as Monthly Weather Review editor (2004-2009), Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society subject matter editor (2003-2006), AMS Annual Meeting Oversight Committee member (2018-2021), AMS National Forecast Improvement Group member (2013-2016), and AMS Mesoscale Processes Committee chair (2001-2003).  He has served in leadership roles in national and international field programs including T-REX, T-PARC, DEEPWAVE, NAWDEX, TCI, and TCRI.  Other professional activities include National Academies Committee on the Assessment of the NWS Modernization Program (2011-2013); UCAR Community Advisory Committee for NCEP Modeling Advisory Committee (UMAC, 2015-2016); Atmospheric Rivers Science Advisory Board (2016-present); NCAR Observing Facilities Assessment Panel (2017-present); Affiliate Scientist, NCAR Earth Observing Laboratory (2018-present); International Commission on Dynamical Meteorology (2020-present).

Doyle received his B.S. in Atmospheric Science/Mathematics from the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, and M.S. and Ph.D in Meteorology from Penn State University.  He has authored and co-authored over 190 peer-reviewed publications.  His honors and awards include the NRL Alan Berman Outstanding Research Publication Award (13 total); Dr. Delores Etter Award for Top Navy Scientists and Engineers of the Year (2007); Terrestrial Atmosphere Ocean Science Most Cited Article Award (2014); NASA Group Achievement Award (2015); and Arthur E. Bisson Prize for Naval Technological Achievement (2015).