AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 2 August 2021 Videoconference Meeting of the Council

Participants--- President Mike Farrar, President-Elect Rich Clark, Past-President Mary Glackin, Secretary-Treasurer Bruce Telfeyan, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. *Councilors*: Joan Alexander, Shuyi Chen, Mark DeMaria, Kristie Ebi, Erica Grow, Mike Henry, Wayne Higgins, Andrea Lang, Ruby Leung, Julie Pullen, and Jim Steenburgh. [Councilors Arndt, Foufoula-Georgiou, Klockow-McClain, and Morris were absent.] *Commissioners*: Tony Broccoli (Publications) and Doug Hilderbrand (Enterprise). *Future and Past Commissioners*: Mike Augustyniak. *Staff:* Stephanie Armstrong and Brian Papa.

A quorum of voting members being present, President Farrar called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m. EDT.

1.0 Battan Awards

Council voted to approve the recipients of the Battan Book Award for both the K–12 and adult categories.

2.0 Spengler Award

After a lengthy discussion, Council selected the individual to receive the Spengler Award.

Council adjourned at 5:19 p.m. EDT.