AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 13 November 2020 Videoconference Meeting of the Council

Participants--- President Mary Glackin, President-Elect Mike Farrar, Past-Presidents Jenni Evans and Roger Wakimoto, Secretary-Treasurer Richard Rosen, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. *Councilors*: Derek Arndt, Melissa Burt, Kristie Ebi, Erica Grow, Jen Henderson, Bob Henson, Wayne Higgins, Gary Lackmann, Shirley Murillo, and Jim Steenburgh. [Councilors Klockow-McClain, Leung, Morris, and Pullen were absent.] *Staff:* Brian Papa.

A quorum of voting members being present, President Glackin called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. EST on 13 November 2020.

Election of Fifth Councilor

President Glackin briefly reviewed the backgrounds of the two candidates under consideration for the Fifth Councilor position, as well as the make-up of the Council in January 2021 given the results of the election. Council discussed both candidates, noting they each had skills and backgrounds that would be valuable in Council deliberations. By a majority of those eligible to vote, Council then elected Michael Henry of NASA to the Fifth Councilor position. Council suggested that the Nominating Committee be encouraged to consider the other candidate for the Council ballot for next year's election. Council also asked that the Nominating Committee pay special attention to ensuring next year's ballot slate include private sector candidates who work in client-facing positions.

Council inquired about the status of BAMS Editor-in-Chief Jeff Rosenfeld, who is on extended medical leave, and it asked Executive Director Seitter to relay to Rosenfeld and his family its well wishes.

President Glackin thanked all who attended the meeting.

Council adjourned at 4:18 p.m. EST.