AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 3 May 2018 Teleconference Meeting of the Council

Participants--- President Roger Wakimoto, President-Elect Jenni Evans, Past-President Frederick Carr, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. *Councilors*: Philip Ardanuy, Elizabeth Austin, Melissa Burt, John Cortinas, Tanja Fransen, Sue Ellen Haupt, Jen Henderson, Bob Henson, James Kinter, and Shirley Murillo. [Councilors Bleistein, Gochis, Lackmann, Riemer, and Sobol were absent.] *Others*: Commissioner Pam Emch, Kevin Kloesel, and Paul Higgins

President Wakimoto called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. EDT on Thursday, 3 May, and welcomed all. The roll was called, and Executive Director Seitter confirmed that a quorum of voting members was present.

1.0 Weather Safety at Venues and Public Gatherings Statement

President Wakimoto led the discussion, noting that the draft statement had been through the prescribed process, including member comments and revisions based on those comments. In discussion, the Council agreed to a number of minor changes and voted to approve the statement subject to those changes, to be confirmed by a working group made up of President-Elect Evans and Councilors Henderson and Henson.

2.0 Precis and Drafting Committee Chair for Statement on Full and Open Access

The Council approved a draft precis for a revision to the existing 2013 statement, with some suggestions to be provided to the drafting committee as they begin their work. The Council also approved Matthew Mayernik as chair of the drafting committee.

The meeting adjourned at 1:48 p.m.