AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 17 April 2017 Teleconference Meeting of the Council

Participants--- President-Elect Roger Wakimoto, Past-President Fred Carr, Secretary-Treasurer Richard Rosen, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. *Councilors*: Philip Ardanuy, Elizabeth Austin, Andrea Bleistein, Carol Anne Clayson, John Cortinas, Tanja Fransen, Laura Furgione, Dave Gochis, James Kinter, Kevin Petty, Nicole Riemer, Alan Sealls, and Adam Sobol. [Past-President MacDonald, and Councilors Easterling and Haupt were absent.] *Others*: Dennis Lettenmaier and Anne McDonough.

President-Elect Wakimoto called the meeting to order at 12:03 p.m. EDT on Monday, 17 April, and welcomed all. Participants introduced themselves, and Seitter confirmed that a quorum of voting members was present.

1.0 Approval of Flash Flood Statement

Past Councilor Lettenmaier, who had served as Council liaison to the drafting committee, reviewed the process leading up to the final draft statement before Council for approval. Councilor Gochis described his additions to the draft in response to the Council request for more information on the National Water Model. Council discussed a few minor edits to the text, which were agreed to by Council. Council then voted unanimously to approve the statement. Executive Director Seitter noted that if anyone had additional suggestions for minor edits, they should provide those in the next two days for review by President-Elect Wakimoto for possible inclusion.

2.0 Staffing changes at Headquarters

At the request of a Councilor, Executive Director Seitter reviewed the staffing changes implemented on 1 March. President-Elect Wakimoto noted that the Executive Committee had reviewed the changes extensively in its meeting in March and concluded that the changes represented a sound business decision.

The meeting adjourned at 12:35 p.m.