# AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 12 January 2020 Meeting of the Council Boston, MA

Participants--- President Jenni Evans, President-Elect Mary Glackin, Past-President Roger Wakimoto, Secretary-Treasurer Richard Rosen, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. Councilors: Elizabeth Austin, Melissa Burt, John Cortinas, Kristie Ebi, Tanja Fransen, David Gochis, Erica Grow, Jen Henderson, Bob Henson, Wayne Higgins, Kim Klockow-McClain, Gary Lackmann, Shirley Murillo, Adam Sobel, and Jim Steenburgh. Commissioners: Tony Broccoli (Publications), Kevin Goebbert (acting EHR), Pam Emch (Enterprise), Genene Fisher (STAC), Maureen McCann (Professional Affairs), and Yvette Richardson (Planning). [Commissioner Charlevoix was absent.] Incoming Council members: Mike Farrar (incoming President-Elect), Deke Arndt, Ruby Leung, Shali Mohleji, Vern Morris, Julie Pullen. Incoming Commissioners: Ankur Desai, Sue Ellen Haupt, Doug Hildebrand. Guests: Michele Levy, Michael Moloney, Katy Schmoll, Courtney Schumacher, and Bruce Telfeyan. Staff: Wendy Abshire, Stephanie Armstrong, Joe Boyd, Beth Farley, Claudia Gorski, Paul Higgins, Bill Hooke, Brian Mardirosian, Brian Papa, Kelly Savoie, and Gwendolyn Whittaker. (Not all guests and staff attended the entire meeting.)

[The numbering of the following sections follows that in the agenda, but the sections are listed in the order they were addressed at the meeting.]

# 0.0 Agenda

A quorum of voting members being present, President Evans called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. EST.

[Council went into executive session from 8:05 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. It then briefly recessed, resuming at 9:25 a.m.]

### 3.0 Briefing on Council Responsibilities

AMS Finance Committee chair Schmoll briefed Council members on their legal obligations and responsibilities, with time allowed for discussion and clarifications.

### 11.0 Awards Oversight Committee Report and New Awards

AOC subcommittee member Schumacher led a discussion on proposed new awards, including their terms of reference and selection process. Council approved the terms of reference and approved the selection process proposed for the administration of the Manabe Award, which had been established in the fall. Selection of the award will be led by CVC and shall include three additional members appointed by the STAC Commissioner. Council also established a new Warren Washington Research and Leadership Medal, approving its terms of reference and selection process, subject to the consent of the honoree.

[Council briefly recessed from 10:40-10:50 a.m.]

### **6.0 Culture and Inclusion Cabinet**

DEI Task Force co-chair Burt led a discussion on the proposed terms of reference for the Culture and Inclusion Cabinet (CIC), which had been approved by Council at its fall meeting. Council approved the terms subject to minor edits and to an amendment to be drafted by a working group consisting of Councilors Burt, Henson, and Morris, plus Secretary-Treasurer Rosen. Council asked the Task Force to provide recommendations for membership on the CIC. Council approved Burt as the initial CIC chair.

## 9.0 Enthusiast Offering

Associate Executive Director Papa and AMS consultant Michele Levy described a proposed offering to weather enthusiasts. Council supported the proposal and approved moving forward on implementing this new offering. Council expressed the need for active monitoring of the Enthusiast discussion forum.

## 8.0 Secretary-Treasurer for Term beginning 2021

Council approved the appointment of Bruce Telfeyan as the next Secretary-Treasurer for a four-year term beginning in January 2021, including that he work with current Secretary-Treasurer Rosen over the next year to ensure a smooth transition.

# 18.0 Council and Finance Committee Engagement in 2020

President-Elect Glackin presented a schedule for Council activities in the coming year and solicited feedback on ways to increase Council engagement with important AMS matters. Council agreed on the value of quarterly reviews of AMS finances by the Finance Committee, with a quarterly report being supplied to Council. Upon receiving the Finance Committee report, Council will meet quarterly to examine AMS finances with AMS staff and the Finance Committee.

### 16.4 2022 Annual Meeting

Incoming President-Elect Farrar presented his initial thoughts on a theme for the 2022 Annual Meeting, which he hopes to have focused on environmental security.

# 15.0 AIP Updates

American Institute of Physics CEO Michael Maloney briefed Council on recent AIP activities with a focus on its recently completed strategic framework.

Council briefly recessed at 12:10 p.m. and reconvened in executive session at 12:15 p.m. [President-Elect Glackin left the meeting at 12:55 p.m.] Council adjourned at 1:30 p.m.