# AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the 11 July 2018 Teleconference Meeting of the Council

**Participants---** President Roger Wakimoto, President-Elect Jenni Evans, Past-President Frederick Carr, Secretary-Treasurer Rick Rosen, and Executive Director Keith Seitter. *Councilors*: Elizabeth Austin, Andrea Bleistein, Melissa Burt, John Cortinas, Tanja Fransen, David Gochis, Sue Ellen Haupt, Jen Henderson, Bob Henson, James Kinter, Gary Lackmann, Shirley Murillo, Nicole Riemer, and Adam Sobel. [Councilor Ardanuy was absent.] *Others*: Commissioner Pam Emch (Enterprise), Stephanie Armstrong

President Wakimoto called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. EDT and welcomed all. The roll was called, and Secretary-Treasurer Rosen confirmed that a quorum of voting members was present. [Bleistein joined the meeting at 10:14 a.m., Evans at 10:23, and Fransen at 10:25]

# 1.0 Awards Oversight Committee Report

President Wakimoto reviewed each award and citation that had been forwarded by the Awards Oversight Committee for Council approval. For a few of the awards, alternate citations were recommended by the Executive Committee, and Council accepted or slightly modified those citations and others. [Councilor Henson recused himself from consideration of the Award for Distinguished Science Journalism.] Council approved all award winners and citations, as edited.

Council reviewed action items in the AOC report and voted to approve changes to the definition of early career and to the terms of reference of the Banner Miller Award. It tabled action on naming the Early Career Award and asked that next year's AOC further discuss the terms of the Award for Exceptional Specific Prediction. It also discussed the gender history for all awards and agreed that more emphasis should be made to garner nominations for deserving individuals from under-represented groups.

# 2.0 Proposed AMS Fellows

Council approved the list of proposed Fellows, including two who were elevated to Fellow by virtue of being awarded a medal. [Councilors Gochis, Haupt, Lackmann, and Murillo, and Commissioner Emch left the meeting and returned after the discussion of this item.]

### 3.0 Honorary Members

Council approved Marcia McNutt and Tim Palmer as Honorary Members of the AMS.

# 4.1 Communicating Scientific Uncertainty Statement

Council discussed the draft Statement on Communicating Scientific Uncertainty in Weather, Water, and Climate Science at some length. The consensus was that this statement is not ready to be approved at this time. President Wakimoto suggested that the other agenda items be addressed and then have Council return to this one at the end of the call.

### **4.2 Infrastructure Statement**

Council approved the draft Statement on the Infrastructure Supporting Weather, Water, Environmental, and Climate Science, Services, and Assessments, subject to minor additional text about protecting the radio frequency spectrum that will be completed in consultation with the drafting committee and approved in final form by President Wakimoto.

# **4.3 Lightning Safety Statement**

Council approved the draft Statement on Lightning Safety, subject to minor edits in one section that will be completed in consultation with the drafting committee and approved in final form by President Wakimoto.

# **4.4 Climate Change Statement**

Council discussed the draft Climate Change Statement which was under consideration for approval for the 30-day member comment period. While Council was pleased with most aspects of the draft, it suggested some changes for the drafting committee to consider and asked that the committee produce a revised draft within the next six weeks for Council consideration.

[Councilor Gochis left the meeting at 11:30 a.m., and President-Elect Evans left at 11:34.]

## **4.1 Communicating Scientific Uncertainty Statement (cont.)**

In further discussion, Council agreed that Councilor Haupt, who is liaison to the drafting committee, would lead an effort to work with the committee on possible next steps. Councilors Sobel, Lackmann, and Henderson agreed to help with that effort.

Council adjourned at 12:07 p.m.