AMS logo     
  home Members Meetings Luncheon Survey Results Scholarships and Awards Information for Minorities and Women Contact Us
> members > founding members  

Founding Members of the AMS' Board on Women and Minorities

Margaret E. (Peggy) Lemone, Founding Chair, then Scientist and Acting Leader of the GATE group at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR). Now Senior Scientist at NCAR, Fellow of AMS and AAAS, Member National Academy of Engineering.

Charles E. Anderson, then Professor University of Wisconsin. First African American PhD in Meteorology (MIT, 1960). Served as Weather Officer for Tuskegee Airmen and chief of Cloud Physics Branch Air Force Cambridge Research Center (now Phillips Lab). Finished academic career at North Carolina State, retired 1990. Commemorated by AMS Anderson Award.

June Bacon-Bercey, then with NOAA National Weather Service. Also served on American Geophysical Union committee on Women and Minorities in Atmospheric Sciences. First television woman and African-American meteorologist and first female recipient of AMS Seal for Televison-Radio Weathercasting. Established scholarship for women pursuing graduate degrees in the Atmospheric Sciences.

Fernando Caracena, Metropolitan State College, Denver, CO

Peter A. Gilman, then Senior Scientist , NCAR . Now Senior Scientist and Head , Solar Interior and Variability Section, High Altitude Observatory(HAO), NCAR. Director, HAO (1987-89) and Associate Director, NCAR (1989-1995).

Paul Goodwin, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, AK

Charlotte Hopper, U.S. EPA San Francisco, CA

Norman Phillips, NMC, Marlow Heights, MD, then with Development Division of the National Meteorological Center (now NCEP), now retired. Winner of AMS Rossby Research Medal (1971) and also winner of Royal Meteorological Society Napier Shaw Award.. A world famous modeler of the first general circulation model. Professor and Chair of Department at MIT.

Joanne Simpson, Univ. of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA., then W.W. Corcoran Professor of Environmental Science, University of Virginia. Now Chief Scientist for Meteorology, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. First Female PhD in Meteorology (Chicago, 1949). Member National Academy of Engineering, Past-President of AMS (1989) and Honorary Member ( 1995). Recipient of Rossby Research Medal (1983) and Charles Anderson Award (2001).

James Turner, Morehouse College, Atlanta, GA

Warren Washington, NCAR Boulder, CO, then Senior Scientist , NCAR. Now Head of Climate Change Research Section at NCAR. Fellow of AMS and AAAS, former President of AMS(1994), member of National Science Board (1995-present), member NOAA Science Advisory Board, Sigma Xi National Speaker (1998-1999). Recipient of inaugural AMS Charles Anderson Award.

Problems using this site? Contact us.             Page Last Modified 16-Oct-2010