Student Travel Grants

Student Travel Grants

Share, learn, and collaborate at an AMS meeting for free!

AMS recognizes the considerable benefit that students can gain from attending conferences even if they are not presenting a paper and wants to encourage interactions between students and other conference attendees.

Covered Expenses

The grant will cover round trip air travel (within North America) to the meeting, hotel room and tax (the recipient of a grant is responsible for meals and any extra charges on the hotel bill), and conference registration fee (excluding student conference and short courses). Students may be asked to share a room with one or two other awardees at the discretion of AMS.


  • Available to active 2020 AMS student members and graduate student members who are senior undergraduate or graduate students.
  • Awarded to students who are not presenting a paper at the conference. (Note: This restriction does not apply to presentations at the Student Conference.)
  • A student can receive no more than one travel grant award per calendar year; this includes the AMS Specialty Conference Travel Grant Program (i.e., if a student applies for a travel grant to attend the AMS annual meeting and receives an award, that student is not eligible to apply for a specialty conference travel grant within that same calendar year).

2020 Specialty Meeting Travel Grant Applications

Students must complete an application to participate.  Use your AMS credentials to log in after clicking the below application link.

Submit Travel Grant Application

2019 AMS Specialty Conference Travel Grant Recipients

The Student Travel Grant Program was designed to afford senior undergraduate and graduate students an invaluable experience to share, collaborate and learn among their peers and professionals in the weather, water, and climate sciences. The program is opened to AMS student members and full members with student privileges. AMS is proud and grateful to have the support of its members who generously give to this program. AMS congratulates the 2019 AMS Specialty Conference Travel Grant recipients.

Brian Haynes

15th Conference on Polar Meteorology and Oceanography

Connor Dacey

47th Conference on Broadcast Meteorology/5th Conference on Weather Warnings and Communications

Jessica Souza and Emily Klee

22nd Conference on Atmospheric and Oceanic Fluid Dynamics

Jan Ising

18th Conference on Mesoscale Processes