List of Mentor Teams

DataStreme courses are mentored by teams of dedicated teacher leaders and scientists across the country. Mentor teams provide personal contact and mentoring to approximately eight teacher participants each semester. Each team mentors participants on course concepts and activities, advertises the local course availability, and may arrange and hold in person or virtual field trips and enrichment opportunities beyond the core curriculum. Each team is ideally composed of an experienced K-12 teacher, a professional oceanographer, hydrologist, meteorologist or environmental scientist, and/or a faculty member.

DataStreme Central, located at the AMS Education office, is a team that develops and provides instructional materials, gives logistical support to the Mentor Teams, engages California University of Pennsylvania and overall course delivery, and administers the program.

A list of Mentor Teams (alphabetical by state) and their contact information follows.

AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO

MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

American Samoa         DoD and Foreign Participants

If there is no Mentor Team listed near you, or you just want to get connected to any team mentoring online, please email amsedu@ametsoc.org and let us know which DataStreme course you are interested in taking; we will work to get you connected.

 

AZ

  • Dana Perry
    Glendale, AZ 85302
    Voice: 623-236-9391
    Email: dperryaz@gmail.com
    Course: Earth's Climate System

CA

  • Steve LaDochy
    Los Angeles, CA 90032
    Voice: 626-287-3484
    Email: sladoch@calstatela.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Jim Blink
    Brentwood, CA 94513
    Voice: 702-885-7593
    Email: nvturtle@mac.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Debra Brice
    Vista, CA 92084
    Voice: 760-295-0580
    Email: debrabrices@msn.com
    Course: Ocean, Earth's Climate System

FL

  • Craig Ehrlich
    Boynton Beach, FL 33472
    Voice: 561-470-7000
    Email: ehrlich@palmbeach.k12.fl.us
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Christopher Mastropieri
    Englewood, FL 34223
    Voice: 941-475-2355
    Email: c.mastropieri@comcast.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

HI

  • Richard Jones
    Kapolei, HI 96707
    Voice: 406-690-3927
    Email: rmjones7@hawaii.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

IN

  • Mark Mettert
    Fort Wayne, IN 46835
    Voice: 260-485-3272
    Email: markmettert@frontier.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System

IA

KY

ME

  • Pamela Mitchel
    Gardiner, ME 04345
    Voice: 207-582-8301
    Email: mitchel@maine.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans

MD

  • Hugo Jackson
    Ellicott City, MD 21043
    Voice: 410-215-3500
    Email: lighthouselions@hotmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Elizabeth McCook
    Hagerstown, MD 21740
    Voice: 301-992-1419
    Email: elizabeth.mccook@fcps.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Sallie Smith
    Hyattsville, MD 20781
    Voice: 301-927-6178
    Email: sms.work3@hotmail.com
    Course: Oceans, Earth's Climate System

MA

MI

  • Dave Chapman
    Okemos, MI 48864
    Voice: 517-706-4886
    Email: chapmad@comcast.net
    Secondary Email: dave.chapman@okemosk12.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Catherine Pfeifle
    Berrein Springs, MI 49103
    Voice: 269-470-8510
    Email: cpfeifle@yahoo.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

MN

MO

  • Ann Kelly
    St. Louis, MO 63109
    Voice: 314-724-6545
    Email: kelly-oceans@att.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Kathleen Murphy
    650 Phelan Rd.
    Pacific, MO 63069
    Voice: 636-375-1535
    Email: kmurphy@ladueschools.net
    Courses: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NJ

  • John Moore
    Laurel Springs, NJ 08021
    Voice: 856-346-0282
    Email: mr.moore.john@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Dr. Michael Passow
    Englewood, NJ 07631-1658
    Voice: 201-519-1071
    Email: mjpassow@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NY

  • Lisa Bastiaans
    Garden City, NY 11530
    Voice: 516-572-7278 Ex26313
    Email: Lisa.Bastiaans@ncc.edu
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Margaret Boorstein
    Brookville, NY 11548
    Voice: 516-299-3058
    Email: margaret.boorstein@liu.edu
    Secondary Email: maboorst@liu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Katherine Fourhman Jones
    Tonawanda, NY 14150
    Voice: 252-202-7516
    Email: kat4man@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Dr. Michael Passow
    Palisade, NY 10964
    Voice: 201-519-1071
    Email: michael@earth2class.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NC

OH

  • William Buckler
    Department of Geography
    Youngstown State University
    1 University Plaza
    Youngstown, OH 44555
    Voice: 330-941-1801
    Email: wrbuckler@ysu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere

OR

  • Michelle Dumas
    Portland, OR 97217
    Voice: 503-289-0861
    Email: mdumas@mindspring.com
    Course: Earth's Climate System
     
  • Julimarie Thomas
    Medford, OR 97501
    Voice: 541-821-5955
    Email: julimariet@charter.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Karen Zwissler
    Portland, OR 97205
    Email: kzwissler@pps.net
    Course: Ocean

PA

SC

VA

WV

  • Toni DeVore
    Parkersburg, WV 26101
    Voice: 304-991-2259
    Email: toni.devore@ovu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

WI

  • Jim Brey
    1225 W. Dayton St.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Voice: 920-203-2686
    Email: brey@ametsoc.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Brack Gillespie
    2884 School Ln.
    Green Bay, WI 54313
    Voice: 920-434-1330
    Email: bgillespie@ashwaubenonk12.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System