Local Implementation Teams

The DataStreme courses are offered through Local Implementation Teams (LITs) located around the country. Typically composed of three members, LITs coordinate the selection and delivery of the course to approximately eight teacher participants each semester. Each team advertises the local course availability, recruits and selects participants, arranges and holds local meetings, individually mentors participants on course understandings and activities, provides participant evaluations, and assists in developing Resource Teacher action plans. Each LIT is composed of at least one master precollege teacher and most include one professional meteorologist, hydrologist, oceanographer or environmental scientist.

DataStreme Central, located at the AMS Education Office, develops instructional materials, provides logistical support to the LITs, conducts the credit-bearing course in which most DataStreme participants enroll, and administers the overall project.

A list (alphabetic by state) of LITs and their program area and contact information follows.  

AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO

MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

American Samoa     DoD and Foreign Participants

To see a map of the locations of the LITs, click here.

If there is no LIT listed near you or in your state, look at our Online LIT Leader list for opportunities to participate on an online course, or send an email to amsedu@ametsoc.org for assistance.

 

AZ

  • Dana Perry
    Glendale, AZ 85302
    Voice: 623-236-9391
    Email: dperryaz@gmail.com
    Course: Earth's Climate System

CA

  • Steve LaDochy
    Los Angeles, CA 90032
    Voice: 626-287-3484
    Email: sladoch@calstatela.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Jim Blink
    Brentwood, CA 94513
    Voice: 702-885-7593
    Email: nvturtle@mac.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Debra Brice
    Vista, CA 92084
    Voice: 760-295-0580
    Email: debrabrices@msn.com
    Course: Ocean, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Joe Monaco
    Highland, CA 92346
    Voice: 909-425-1508
    Email: monacoj@aol.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Ocean, Earth's Climate System

CO

  • Paul Wolyn
    Pueblo, CO 81001
    Voice: 719-948-9429 Ex766
    Email: paul.wolyn@noaa.gov
    Course: Atmosphere

FL

  • Craig Ehrlich
    Boynton Beach, FL 33472
    Voice: 561-470-7000
    Email: ehrlich@palmbeach.k12.fl.us
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Christopher Mastropieri
    Englewood, FL 34223
    Voice: 941-475-2355
    Email: c.mastropieri@comcast.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

HI

  • Richard Jones
    Kapolei, HI 96707
    Voice: 406-690-3927
    Email: rmjones7@hawaii.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

ID

  • Michael Ridgeway
    Twin Falls, ID 83301
    Voice: 208-420-4015
    Email: ridgewaymi@tfsd.org
    Course: Atmosphere

IN

  • Mark Mettert
    Fort Wayne, IN 46835
    Voice: 260-485-3272
    Email: markmettert@frontier.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System

IA

KY

ME

  • Pamela Mitchel
    Gardiner, ME 04345
    Voice: 207-582-8301
    Email: mitchel@maine.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans

MD

  • Hugo Jackson
    Ellicott City, MD 21043
    Voice: 410-215-3500
    Email: lighthouselions@hotmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Elizabeth McCook
    Hagerstown, MD 21740
    Voice: 301-992-1419
    Email: elizabeth.mccook@fcps.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Sallie Smith
    Hyattsville, MD 20781
    Voice: 301-927-6178
    Email: sms.work3@hotmail.com
    Course: Oceans, Earth's Climate System

MA

  • Christopher Mastropieri
    Westfield, MA 01085
    Voice: 413-572-3980
    Email: c.mastropieri@comcast.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, arth's Climate System

MI

  • Dave Chapman
    Okemos, MI 48864
    Voice: 517-706-4886
    Email: chapmad@comcast.net
    Secondary Email: dave.chapman@okemosk12.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Catherine Pfeifle
    Berrein Springs, MI 49103
    Voice: 269-470-8510
    Email: cpfeifle@yahoo.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

MN

MO

  • Ann Kelly
    St. Louis, MO 63109
    Voice: 314-724-6545
    Email: kelly-oceans@att.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Kathleen Murphy
    650 Phelan Rd.
    Pacific, MO 63069
    Voice: 636-375-1535
    Email: kmurphy@ladueschools.net
    Courses: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

MT

  • Mariann Prewett
    Jordan, MT 59337
    Voice: 406-671-0446
    Email: shylo.science@gmail.com
    Courses: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NJ

  • William (Doug) Blanchard
    Neptune, NJ 07753
    Voice: 732-988-1472
    Email: wmblanch@aol.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans
     
  • John Moore
    Laurel Springs, NJ 08021
    Voice: 856-346-0282
    Email: mr.moore.john@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Dr. Michael Passow
    Englewood, NJ 07631-1658
    Voice: 201-519-1071
    Email: mjpassow@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NY

  • Lisa Bastiaans
    Garden City, NY 11530
    Voice: 516-572-7278 Ex26313
    Email: Lisa.Bastiaans@ncc.edu
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Margaret Boorstein
    Brookville, NY 11548
    Voice: 516-299-3058
    Email: margaret.boorstein@liu.edu
    Secondary Email: maboorst@liu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Katherine Fourhman Jones
    Tonawanda, NY 14150
    Voice: 252-202-7516
    Email: kat4man@gmail.com
    Course: Atmosphere
     
  • Dr. Michael Passow
    Palisade, NY 10964
    Voice: 201-519-1071
    Email: michael@earth2class.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

NC

OH

  • William Buckler
    Department of Geography
    Youngstown State University
    1 University Plaza
    Youngstown, OH 44555
    Voice: 330-941-1801
    Email: wrbuckler@ysu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere

OR

  • Michelle Dumas
    Portland, OR 97217
    Voice: 503-289-0861
    Email: mdumas@mindspring.com
    Course: Ocean, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Julimarie Thomas
    Medford, OR 97501
    Voice: 541-821-5955
    Email: julimariet@charter.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System

PA

  • Dr Tom Arnold
    Bellefonte, PA 16823
    Voice: 814-383-2987
    Email: tca1@psu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Phil Lacey
    Beaver, PA 15009
    Voice: 724-775-4736
    Email: lacey372@comcast.net
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans
     
  • William Licopoli
    Doylestown, PA 18901
    Voice:
    Email: WLICOPOL@cbsd.org
    Course: Ocean

SC

  • George and Phyllis Rumpp
    Bluffton, SC 29909
    Voice: 843-705-9889
    Email: George3268@aol.com
    Secondary Email: per2061@aol.com
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

VA

WA

WV

  • Toni DeVore
    Parkersburg, WV 26101
    Voice: 304-991-2259
    Email: toni.devore@ovu.edu
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System

WI

  • Brack Gillespie
    2884 School Ln.
    Green Bay, WI 54313
    Voice: 920-434-1330
    Email: bgillespie@ashwaubenonk12.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Oceans, Earth's Climate System
     
  • Jim Brey
    1225 W. Dayton St.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Voice: 920-203-2686
    Email: brey@ametsoc.org
    Course: Atmosphere, Earth's Climate System