Association of American Publishers, Inc. www.publishers.org

455 Massachusetts Avenue, NW 7th Floor Washington, DC 20001-2777 Telephone: (202) 220-4544 Fax: (202) 347-3690

71 Fifth Avenue New York, NY 10003-3004 Telephone: (212) 255-0200 Fax: (212) 255-7007

April 3, 2013

The Honorable John P. Holdren, Ph.D. Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building 1650 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington, DC 20504

Dear Dr. Holdren:

On behalf of the Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division of the Association of American Publishers and in follow-up to our letter of March 21, 2013 [attached], we want to thank you for the opportunity to meet with Mike Stebbins this afternoon. In the past two weeks, we have reached out to a number of leading scientific publishers, named below, who support the objectives outlined in our March 21st letter.

In reiterating our position stated in that letter, the undersigned welcome the opportunity to work collaboratively with OSTP and the responsible federal agencies, to develop a coordinated approach to public access that could potentially serve to be a shared approach for use by all agencies that would:

- Be highly efficient and effective
- Preserve existing agency funds
- Eliminate potential duplication of effort
- Ensure high level of compliance
- Be the lowest cost option

We would appreciate the opportunity to also meet with you at your earliest convenience to continue to explore ways that public-private collaboration offers a means to create the most efficient and effective public access solution.

As Chair and Vice Chair of the Executive Council, Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division, Association of American Publishers, Inc., we will be happy to coordinate further

aap

The Honorable John Holdren, Ph.D.

discussions with you, Mike Stebbins and the appropriate federal agencies on behalf of the publishers who have signed below.

Sincerely,

Susan King, Ph.D.

Chair of the Executive Council, Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division, Association of American Publishers, Inc. Senior Vice President, Journals Publishing Group, Publications Division, American Chemical Society

And:

Patrick Kelly, Ph.D. Vice Chair of the Executive Council, Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division, Association of American Publishers, Inc. Publishing Director, John Wiley & Sons

cc: M. Stebbins

The undersigned:

American Association for the Advancement of Science, Beth Rosner, Publisher

American Association for Cancer Research, Kathleen Case, Interim Publisher

American Institute of Physics, Fred Dylla, Ph.D., Executive Director

American Mathematical Society, Donald E. McClure, Ph.D., Executive Director

American Medical Association, Thomas J. Easley, Senior Vice President & Publisher

American Physical Society, Kate P. Kirby, Ph.D., Executive Officer

Page three

American Physiological Society, Martin Frank, Ph.D., Executive Director American Psychological Association, Susan J. A. Harris, Senior Director, APA Journals Columbia University Press, Jennifer Crewe, Associate Director/Editorial Director Elsevier, Alicia Wise, Ph.D., Director, Universal Access **IEEE**, Fran Zappulla, Staff Director, IEEE Publishing Operations Materials Research Society, Todd Osman, Ph.D., Executive Director McGraw-Hill, Scott Grillo, Vice President, Publisher Mc-Graw-Hill Professional New England Journal of Medicine, Christopher Lynch, Vice President, Publishing The Optical Society, Elizabeth A. Rogan, Chief Executive Officer Oxford University Press, Niko Pfund, Academic Publisher Silverchair Science+Communications, Inc., Thane Kerner, President & CEO Springer Science+Business Media LLC, William F. Curtis, President Thieme Publishers, Brian Scanlan, President University of Chicago Press, Garrett P. Kiely, Director Wolters Kluwer Medical Research, Sami Hero, Vice President, Marketing

Signatories after April 3, 2013

Acoustical Society of America, David L. Bradley, President

American Association of Physicists in Medicine, John D. Hazle, Ph.D., President

American Association of Physics Teachers, Beth A. Cunningham, Executive Officer

American Astronomical Society, Kevin B. Marvel, Executive Officer

American Crystallographic Association, Inc., William L. Duax, Chief Executive Officer

American Geophysical Union, Christine McEntee, Executive Director/CEO

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Dr. Sandy Magnus, Executive Director

American Meteorological Society, Keith Seitter, Executive Director

American Nuclear Society Robert C. Fine, JD, CAE, Executive Director

American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers, Darrin Drollinger, Executive Director

American Society of Civil Engineers, Patrick Natale, Executive Director

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, Arlene Pietranton, Chief Executive Officer

AVS: Science & Technology of Materials, Interfaces and Processing, Susan B. Sinnott, President

Biophysical Society, Rosalba Kampman, Executive Director

Fabricators and Manufacturers Association, International, Edward Youdell, President and CEO

Genetics Society of America, Adam P. Fagen, Ph.D., Executive Director

Entomological Society of America, C. David Gammel, CAE, Executive Director

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, Lynn Strother, Executive Director

Institute of Physics Publishing, Steven Hall, Managing Director

Society for the Advancement of Materials on Process Engineering, Gregg Balko, Executive Director