AMERICAN METEOROLOGICAL SOCIETY



Headquarters: 45 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02108-3693 U.S.A. (617) 227-2425 Washington Office: 1120 G Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, D.C. 20005 (202) 737-9006

Keith L. Seitter, Executive Director Richard E. Hallgren, Executive Director Emeritus Ronald D. McPherson, Executive Director Emeritus Kenneth C. Spengler, Executive Director Emeritus

8 December 2006

Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez United States Department of Commerce 1401 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20230

Dear Secretary Gutierrez:

The American Meteorological Society was founded in 1919 to advance the atmospheric and related sciences, and the services based on them. The Society's 12,000 members represent the core of the research and operational communities in the nation's weather and climate enterprise.

The AMS is aware of the administration's efforts to fill the position of Deputy Administrator of NOAA that was made vacant by the departure of Dr. James Mahoney earlier in the year. We believe that the Climate Change Science Program (CCSP), a major portion of Dr. Mahoney's portfolio while he was the Deputy Administrator, is vitally important for the nation and the world. Dr. Mahoney was well-qualified to lead CCSP, and we hope that the next leader of CCSP will have a strong background in climate science with knowledge of the atmospheric and related sciences, as well as experience in science policy and program management. If someone with different qualifications is chosen to be Deputy Administrator, the AMS strongly urges that an individual with the sort of qualifications stated above be given the leadership role in CCSP.

We appreciate the opportunity to provide input on this important issue.

Sincerely,

Keith L. Seitter Executive Director

American Meteorological Society

Kur Z Sutt

CC:

Hon. Ted Stevens, Chairman, US Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation Hon. Daniel K. Inouye, Co-Chairman, US Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation