2013-2014 Award Winners

AMS Local Chapter Awards for 2013-2014

The Chapter of the Year Awards for 2013-2014 were presented to the winners by AMS Past President Bill Gail at the AMS Annual Meeing in Phoenix. Every year the Local Chapter Affairs Committee is tasked with choosing the winners for this award (both student and regular chapters) and once again this year's applicants were outstanding. With so many impressive applicants, the job of selecting winners for this award is a difficult one. Thank you to all the chapters who submitted applications for the award!  The nomination deadline for the 2014-2015 awards is 1 May 2015.

Blue Ridge 

"For their strong outreach focus in raising severe weather awareness in the community and excellence in career building and research promotion through a diverse speaker series and multiple networking opportunities for chapter members."


Southwest Pennsylvania

"For their continued, long-standing educational outreach, focus on member education with their first-ever research symposium, strong interaction with other local chapters, and a colloquial series to enhance the career and meteorological knowledge of their members."


Iowa State University
Lyndon State College
North Florida
Northwest Indiana
University of Alabama - Huntsville
University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
West Central Florida


Chapter Poster Awards

Regular Chapter Winners

Blue Ridge

West Central

Fort Collins

Student Chapter Winners

Iowa State


Lyndon State College