2012-2013 Award Winners

AMS Local Chapter Awards for 2012-2013

The Chapter of the Year Awards for 2012-2013 were presented to the winners by AMS Past President J. Marshall Shepherd at the AMS Annual Meeing in Atlanta. Every year the Local Chapter Affairs Committee is tasked with choosing the winners for this award (both student and regular chapters) and once again this year's applicants were outstanding. With so many impressive applicants, the job of selecting winners for this award is a difficult one. Thank you to all the chapters who submitted applications for the award!  The nomination deadline for the 2013-2014 awards is 1 May 2014.

North Florida

"For tremendous effort in public outreach technique development, excellent attention to professional development, a diverse speaker series covering all aspects of atmospheric science, and innovation in meeting types and methods."


Iowa State University

"For continued excellence in the local community, a very well rounded and creative approach to public outreach, and their commitment and success mentoring and retaining young students in the atmospheric sciences."


Millersville University
University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Southwest Pennsylvania
West Central Florida
University of Georgia


Chapter Poster Awards

Regular Chapter Winners

Blue Ridge

District of Columbia

West Central Florida

Student Chapter Winners

University of Georgia


Lyndon State College