Contact AMS Publications

General Inquries

Any questions may be directed here if a specific contact is not available.
 amspubs@ametsoc.org

Permissions

Inquiries regarding use of our content.
 Permissions@ametsoc.org

Billing

Inquiries regarding billing matters.
 PubsBilling@ametsoc.org

Copyrights

Inquiries regarding our copyright policy or to submit forms for accepted papers.
 Copyrights@ametsoc.org

Editorial Manager

Troubleshooting user account issues with our submission management system.
 EMAdmin@ametsoc.org

Author Support

Inquiries regarding the submission process.
Contact the journal you are submitting to from the list of journal inboxes.


Director of Publications
Kenneth F. Heideman
 kheideman@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3923

Ken Heideman holds an M.S. in Meteorology from Penn State. After spending the first part of his career as a research meteorologist, first at PROFS in Boulder, Colorado (where he got to chase tornadoes as part of his job), and then at the Air Force Geophysics Lab in Bedford, Massachusetts, he found his dream job at the American Meteorological Society in 1998. He has been the Director of Publications since 1999. He is active in the Council of Science Editors, and he served as its president in 2011.

 

Publications Reporting Manager
Sharon Kristovich
 skristovich@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5819

Publications Billing and AMS Office Manager
Caitlin Garrison
 cgarrison@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3915


Bulletin of the AMS

Editor-in-Chief
Jeff Rosenfeld
 jrosenfeld@ametsoc.org
  510-846-3616

Jeff Rosenfeld has been Editor-in-Chief of BAMS since 2001. Previously, he was a writer for Scientific American, the National Science Foundation, and others. Rosenfeld is the author of Eye of the Storm: Inside the World's Deadliest Hurricanes, Tornadoes, and Blizzards, and has coauthored other books on weather and meteorology for National Geographic and the Discovery Channel. He got his start in AMS through meetings and committees, as well as collaborations on education and outreach during his long tenure as an editor of Weatherwise magazine.

Managing Editor
Bryan Hanssen
 bhanssen@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3951

Bryan Hanssen has worked for AMS since 1994 when he was hired as an editorial assistant in the Publications Department. He was also copy editor for the Journal of Climate and the Journal of Applied Meteorology (now Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology) before joining the BAMS staff. As managing editor Bryan oversees the day-to-day operations for BAMS and BAMS Digital Edition, which includes tracking statuses of BAMS’s many sections and managing production schedules.

 

Senior Editor
Christopher P. Cappella
 ccappella@ametsoc.org
  727-744-6039

Production Editor
Denise Moy
 dmoy@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3952

Production Editor
Roger L. Wood
 rwood@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3937

Advertising
Kelly Savoie
 ksavoie@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3983

News Editor/Media Relations
Rachel Thomas-Medwid
 rthomas@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3955

News Editor
Matt Gillespie
 mgillespie@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3953

Peer Review Support Coordinator
Melissa Fernau
 melissa.fernau@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3954

Author Submission Support
Christopher R. Faucher
 bams@ametsoc.org


Books

Managing Editor
Sarah Jane Shangraw
 sjshangraw@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3941

Sarah Jane holds a master's degree in magazine journalism from Syracuse University and has worked for several Boston-area publishers. She joined AMS in 2005 to help establish AMS Books. She specializes in working with first-time authors, liaises with distribution partners University of Chicago Press and Springer Nature, and leads the Publications Marketing Group. In her free time she practices and teaches yoga and meditation.

 

Production Manager
Beth Dayton
 edayton@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3940


Journals

If submission support is needed, please contact the inbox of the journal you are submitting to:

Jump to: Peer Review | Production | Technical Editors | Copy Editors

If you are looking for production or peer review staff related to a specific journal, please find the journal on Journals and Monographs and then consult that journal's “Editors and Staff Contacts” section.


Peer Review

Peer Review Support Manager/Publications Coordinator
Gwendolyn Whittaker
 gwhittaker@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3929

Gwendolyn has worked to support AMS's authors and volunteer reviewers and editors since 2004.

 

Senior Peer Review Support Associate
Tiffany Bischoff
 tbischoff@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5817

Senior Peer Review Support Associate
Laura Buttner
 lbuttner@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5815

Senior Peer Review Support Associate
Rebecca Perriello
 rperriello@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3676

Peer Review Support Associate
Hayley Charney
 hcharney@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5818

Peer Review Support Associate
Christine E. Ziebarth
 cziebarth@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5816

Peer Review Support Assistant
Felicia Gullotta
 fgullotta@ametsoc.org
  617-936-5827

Peer Review Support Assistant
Andrea Herbst
 aherbst@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3982

Peer Review Support Assistant
Megan Valcour
 mvalcour@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3966


Production

Journals Production Manager
Mike Friedman
 mfriedman@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3924

Mike Friedman has been with AMS since 2001, first as a technical editor, and then as the Journals Production Manager for the past 12 years. He supervises a production team responsible for manuscript submission and production of AMS’s 10 technical journals and the Meteorological Monograph series. Mike has served on the Board of Directors for the Council of Science Editors, and is also active with the Society for Scholarly Publishing. He has a Ph.D. in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences from the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Production Team Manager
Sheila Gafvert
 sgafvert@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3936

Sheila joined the AMS journals production team in 2010 after her time at Beacon Press, Candlewick Press, and the Publications department of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. She currently manages the team processing author submissions, works with the online manuscript tracking system, and contributes to all aspects of the production process.

 

Production Associate
Christopher R. Faucher
 cfaucher@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3909

Production Assistant
Betsy Byers
 bbyers@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3975

Production Assistant
Liz Wright
 lwright@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3943


Technical Editors

Managing Technical Editor
Mark E. Fernau
 mfernau@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3942

Mark has been a technical editor at AMS since 1999 and has been the head of the technical editing group since 2004. Prior to working at AMS, he was an air pollution meteorologist and atmospheric scientist at a private consulting firm and the Argonne National Laboratory, where he was part of the Environmental Policy Group. Mark's work, published in AMS journals and elsewhere, involved sophisticated air pollution modeling and policy analysis related to the Clean Air Act Amendments and other regulatory requirements around acidic deposition, ground-level ozone, particulates, and other pollutants.

 

Senior Technical Editor
Richard R. Brandt
 rbrandt@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3944

Technical Editor
Hollis Baguskas
 hbaguskas@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3822

Senior Technical Editor
Jack K. Creilson
 jcreilson@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3945


Copy Editors

Managing Copy Editor
Jessica LaPointe
 jlapointe@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3930

Jessica joined AMS as a copy editor in 2007 after 3 years in scholarly, academic, and trade book publishing. She is also a member of the Council of Science Editors and serves as the copy chief for their journal, Science Editor.

 

Senior Copy Editor
Kristin Gilbert
 kgilbert@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3931

Senior Copy Editor
Nicole Rietmann
 nrietmann@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3922

Senior Copy Editor
Andrea Schein
 aschein@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3939

Senior Copy Editor
Lesley Williams
 lwilliams@ametsoc.org
  978-602-5845

Copy Editor
Jason Emmanuel
 jemmanuel@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3948

Copy Editor
Gary Gorski
 ggorski@ametsoc.org
  978-463-8617

Copy Editor
Danielle M. Joyce
 djoyce@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3961

Copy Editor
Stephanie L. Nisbet
 snisbet@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3963

Copy Editor
Ramesh Pillay
 rpillay@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3933

Copy Editor
Chelsea Wilson
 cwilson@ametsoc.org
  617-226-3902