Oregon Chapter
American Meteorological Society

| Home | Contact Us | Mission | Membership | Meetings | Current WX | Past WX | WX Pictures | Blog | WX Links |

Blog / Chapter News

June 4, 2010

Dear Oregon AMS Members and Friends !

I wanted to give you an update on the Oregon AMS and where we stand wrapping up the 2009-2010 year.  We set a record for the attendance record for the "Annual Winter Weather Meeting" at OMSI.  We also had for the first time a DVD made available of the event so we could go back and watch it.  We were fortunate to have a great speaker line up this year and we covered many interesting topics within the weather world.  

As the president of the chapter, I'm happy to report that we are at record membership and our latest treasury report shows we are at an all time high for funds available for chapter use.  The diligent work of John Rinier and Kyle Dittmer is directly responsible for this.  These two gentlemen have worked to get things organized and now we are reaping the benefits of what they've done.  The councilors of the group have been a great asset to me.  These guys constantly promote the group and are always looking for ways to get the Oregon AMS out in front of the public and media.  The work they do is so very vital to the success of our chapter.  I'm in debt to them.  A special thank you to Steve Pierce, Tyree Wilde, and Mark Nelsen.

I have to take a moment to say thank you and goodbye to our outgoing Vice President, Mr. Pete Parsons.  Pete has been a rock that I could rely on for anything.  Pete has been an important part of our chapter for many years.  While I'm sad to see Pete leave the Executive Council, I know he will remain very active in the chapter.  Pete has always been a professional and a good friend.  His leadership will be missed.  We all owe him a huge thanks for all he has done.

As I look forward to next year, I'm happy to report that after our last election, our Executive Council has gone from 7 members to 18 members.  Listed below is your council for 2010-2011.

President: Bobby Corser
Vice Pres: Steve Pierce
Treasurer: John Rinier
Sect: Kyle Dittmer

Mark Nelsen
Charlie Feris
George Miller
Jonathan Wolfe
Matt Zaffino
Michael Rice
Bruce Sussman
Chuck Wiese
Tyree Wilde
Rian Muleback
Nick Allard
David Lamb
Dave Salesky
Mary Loos

2010-2011 looks like its going to be another great year with the Oregon AMS.  We have some exciting topics coming up and I'm sure you'll be interested in them too.  Details will come out about the meetings soon.  I hope everyone has a great summer and I can't wait to get back at it !

Bobby Corser
Oregon AMS President