Berrien Moore III, Ph.D.

Berrien Moore III, Ph.D.'s photo
Berrien Moore III
OU College of Atmospheric &
Geographic Sciences
120 David L Boren Blvd 1100
Norman, OK 73072

Email Address

LinkedIn Larger Photo

Berrien Moore is

all at the University of Oklahoma in Norman. Dr. Moore, an internationally recognized Earth scientist who has been honored by NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, joined the OU College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences as Dean in 2010. Previously, Dr. Moore served as executive director of Climate Central, a nonprofit, nonpartisan think-tank based in Princeton, N.J., and Palo Alto, Calif., which is dedicated to providing public, business and civic leaders and policymakers with objective and understandable information about climate change and potential solutions. He has published extensively on the global carbon cycle, biogeochemistry, remote sensing and environmental policy. Prior to heading Climate Central, Dr. Moore served for 20 years as the director of the Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space at the University of New Hampshire and held the position of Distinguished University Professor. Throughout his career at UNH, he worked closely with many aerospace companies, including AER, BAE Systems, Ball Aerospace and Technologies, Harris, ITT, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, and Raytheon. Dr. Moore has been a visiting research scientist at the Laboratoire de Physique et Chimie Marines, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris and at the Institute of Meteorology at the University of Stockholm. He also served as a Senior Research Fellow at the East-West Center in Honolulu and as a Fellow at the Marine Policy and Ocean Management Program at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Dr. Moore served as chair for the Scientific Committee of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme from 1998 to 2002. He also has been engaged with senior management of NASA in a variety of roles, including chairing its highest-ranking science and applications advisory committee, and has lent his leadership and expertise across a broad range of boards and committees of the National Academy of Science. Most recently, he was co-chair of the Academy's first Decadal Survey in Earth science and applications from space. He currently chairs or is the member of committees and boards for the National Research Council, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, and University of New Hampshire Foundation. In recognition of his lifelong dedication to science, Dr. Moore has been the recipient of numerous honors, including the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal for outstanding service to the agency—NASA's highest civilian honor; the NOAA Administrator's Recognition Award; and the 2007 Dryden Lectureship in Research by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Dr. Moore has a Ph.D. degree from the University of Virginia.

2011 AMS Washington Forum Presentation (.pdf)
Click here to view the slides

To view this AMS Community Profile online, visit
Or, scan this QR code with your Internet-connected device (e.g., smart phone, iPod)

Berrien Moore III, Ph.D.'s Quick Response Bar Code

To view the AMS Community Directory, visit
Or, scan this QR code with your Internet-connected device

AMS Community Directory Quick Response Bar Code

Click here to Get your own AMS Community Profile, or Update it

The content of this profile was last updated 3 April 2011
This web page was last updated 1 August 2012

To ask questions about this page, or report errors or broken links,
please contact Gary Rasmussen at AMS:

This Community Profile was created by AMS to facilitate networking
within the weather, water, and climate community. Any errors that
exist are responsibility of AMS, and not of Berrien Moore III.
Providing this profile does not imply AMS endorsement of products or
services provided by Berrien Moore III.

Berrien Moore III photo copyright © Berrien Moore
Organization logos are copyright © by the respective organizations
Everything else copyright © 2007-2012 American Meteorological Society
All rights reserved